Champions in the Derby

2023 Kentucky Derby| Champions in the Derby

By US Racing Team

Each year since 1971, Eclipse Awards are given to the elite runners from each division, as well as to racing’s top owner, breeder and jockeys. The awards, which are named for foundation sire Eclipse, are voted on a three-body panel consisting of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters Association (NTWAB), and the Daily Racing Form (DRF). But even before the awards were known as Eclipses, championship honors were handed out via various polling entities.

And throughout history a total of 65 Kentucky Derby winners have been crowned champion 3-year-old, but none since Authentic in 2020.

Additionally, 79 juvenile champions made the gate for the Kentucky Derby with 21 wearing the garland of roses after crossing the finish line in front. The most recent 2-year-old champion to win the Derby was Nyquist in 2015.

In 2020 Storm The Court finished sixth and that year’s 2-year-old Eclipse winner Essential Quality crossed the wire fourth under the Twin Spires in 2021. The 2021 juvenile champion Corniche did not make the gate a year ago, but this year 2022 champion Forte is the favorite and has been since winning the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile (G1).

Every one but one of the 13 Triple Crown winners was crowned Horse of the Year, the only exception was Omaha in 1935. He lost the title to the 4-year-old Discovery, who won 11 of 19 starts that year, and defeated Omaha in that year’s Brooklyn Handicap.

Four Kentucky Derby winners are two-time Horse of the Year winners — Whirlaway (1941-42), Secretariat (1972-73), Affirmed (1978-79) and California Chrome (2014, ’16). A Kentucky Derby winner has been crowned Horse of the Year after its 3-year-old season ten times — Old Rosebud (1917), Exterminator (1922), Whirlaway (1942), Swaps (1956), Affirmed (1979), Spectacular Bid (1980), Ferdinand (1987), Alysheba (1988), California Chrome (2016) and Authentic (2020).

So far, 38 Kentucky Derby winners are members of racing’s Hall of Fame, including 2015 winner American Pharoah and 2016 winner California Chrome, elected this year in his first year of eligibility.

Kentucky Derby 2023 Odds

PP Horse Jockey Trainer Owner Odds
1 Hit Show Franco Brad H. Cox West, Gary and Mary 30-1
2 Verifying Gaffalione Brad H. Cox Poulin, Jonathan, Westerberg, Magnier, Mrs. John, Smith, Derrick and Tabor, Michael B. 15-1
3 Two Phil’s Loveberry Larry Rivelli Patricia’s Hope LLC and Sagan, Phillip 12-1
4 Conficence Game Graham J. Keith Desormeaux Don’t Tell My Wife Stables 20-1
5 Tapit Trice Saez Todd A. Pletcher Whisper Hill Farm, LLC and Gainesway Stable (Antony Beck) 5-1
6 Kinkngbarns J. Ortiz Todd A. Pletcher Spendthrift Farm LLC 12-1
7 Reincartnate Velazquez Tim Yakteen SF Racing LLC, Starlight Racing, Madaket Stables LLC, Masterson, Robert E., Stonestreet Stables LLC, Schoenfarber, Jay A., Waves Edge Capital LLC and Donovan, Catherine 50-1
8 Mage Castellano Gustavo Delgado OGMA Investments, LLC, Restrepo, Ramiro, Sterling Racing LLC and CMNWLTH 15-1
SCR Skinner Hernandez John A. Shirreffs C R K Stable 20-1
SCR Practical Move Vazquez Tim Yakteen Amestoy, Jr., Pierre Jean, Amestoy, Leslie A. and Beasley, Roger K. SCR
9 Disarm Rosario Steven M. Asmussen Winchell Thoroughbreds LLC 30/1
10 Jace’s Road Geroux Brad H. Cox West Point Thoroughbreds and Albaugh Family Stables LLC 15-1
11 Sun Thunder Hernandez Jr Kenneth G. McPeek R.T Racing Stable and Cypress Creek Equine 30-1
12 Angel Of Empire Prat Brad H. Cox Albaugh Family Stables LLC 8-1
13 Forte I. Ortiz JR. Todd A. Pletcher Repole Stable and St. Elias Stable 3-1
14 Raise Can Corrales Ben Colebrook Warren, Andrew and Warren, Rania 15-1
15 Derma Sotogake Lemaire Hidetaka Otonashi Hiroyuki Asanuma 10-1
16 Rocket Can Alvarado William I. Mott Frank Fletcher Racing Operations, Inc. 15-1
SCR Lord Miles Lopez Todd A. Pletcher Vegso Racing Stable 30-1
17 Continuar Sakai Yoshito Yahagi Lion Race Horse Co. Ltd. 50-1
18 Cyclone Mischief J. Rosario D. Romans Albaugh Family Stables LLC and Castleton Lyons. 30-1
19 Mandarin Hero Kazushi Kimura Terunobu Fujita Hiroaki Arai. 20-1
20 King Russell Rafael Bejarano Ron Moquett Jones, Brereton C. and Naber Racing, LLC 50-1
Posted on