2023 Kentucky Derby Post Positions, Entries, Odds and Predictions: Rocket Can

2023 Kentucky Derby Post Positions, Entries, Odds and Predictions: Rocket Can

The 149th Kentucky Derby (G1) presented by Woodford Reserve will be run on Saturday, May 6, at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. The purse is $3 million, with $1.86 million going to the winner. US Racing is profiling each horse in the field. The post-position draw is Monday, May 1. Profiles will be updated with post positions and odds following the draw.

By US Racing Team

With Rocket Can, Hall of Famer Bill Mott is looking for his second victory in the Kentucky Derby (G1).

This time, the 69-year-old trainer wants to enjoy the feeling of watching his horse cross the finish line first.

“We’ll keep trying until we do it,’’ Mott said in the days leading up to what would be his 12th Derby starter.

Mott won in historic fashion in 2019. Maximum Security finished first, but was disqualified for interference after a 21-minute inquiry and Mott’s runner-up, Country House, was declared the official winner. It was the first time a horse was DQ’d for an on-track infraction.

In Rocket Can, there’s a chance. The gray son of Into Mischief had a promising run on the Derby trail. He won the Holy Bull (G3) at Gulfstream in February, then finished second to Forte in the Fountain of Youth (G2) a month later.

In his final prep, the Arkansas Derby (G1), Rocket Can ran fourth after racing in mid-pack, was moved out wide, and then got caught in some traffic, finishing well behind winner Angel of Empire.

2023 Kentucky Derby Post Positions, Entries, Odds and Predictions: Rocket Can

Post position: 18

Odds: 30-1

Trainer: Bill Mott

Jockey: Junior Alvarado

Owner: Frank Fletcher Racing Operations Inc.

Career record: 7-2-2-0

Career earnings: $383,413

Derby qualifying points: 60 (10th)

Best Equibase speed figure: 99

Pedigree: Into Mischief-Tension, By Tapit

Color: Gray

Running style: Stalker

Notes: Junior Alvarado will ride in his fourth Derby –he was fourth aboard Mohayman in 2016, and 14th aboard both Enticed in 2018 and Tax in 2019 … Rocket Can was purchased for $245,000 at the Fasig-Tipton Saratoga Yearling sale in 2021.


Kentucky Derby 2023 Odds

PP Horse Jockey Trainer Owner Odds
1 Hit Show Franco Brad H. Cox West, Gary and Mary 30-1
2 Verifying Gaffalione Brad H. Cox Poulin, Jonathan, Westerberg, Magnier, Mrs. John, Smith, Derrick and Tabor, Michael B. 15-1
3 Two Phil’s Loveberry Larry Rivelli Patricia’s Hope LLC and Sagan, Phillip 12-1
4 Conficence Game Graham J. Keith Desormeaux Don’t Tell My Wife Stables 20-1
5 Tapit Trice Saez Todd A. Pletcher Whisper Hill Farm, LLC and Gainesway Stable (Antony Beck) 5-1
6 Kinkngbarns J. Ortiz Todd A. Pletcher Spendthrift Farm LLC 12-1
7 Reincartnate Velazquez Tim Yakteen SF Racing LLC, Starlight Racing, Madaket Stables LLC, Masterson, Robert E., Stonestreet Stables LLC, Schoenfarber, Jay A., Waves Edge Capital LLC and Donovan, Catherine 50-1
8 Mage Castellano Gustavo Delgado OGMA Investments, LLC, Restrepo, Ramiro, Sterling Racing LLC and CMNWLTH 15-1
SCR Skinner Hernandez John A. Shirreffs C R K Stable 20-1
SCR Practical Move Vazquez Tim Yakteen Amestoy, Jr., Pierre Jean, Amestoy, Leslie A. and Beasley, Roger K. SCR
9 Disarm Rosario Steven M. Asmussen Winchell Thoroughbreds LLC 30/1
10 Jace’s Road Geroux Brad H. Cox West Point Thoroughbreds and Albaugh Family Stables LLC 15-1
11 Sun Thunder Hernandez Jr Kenneth G. McPeek R.T Racing Stable and Cypress Creek Equine 30-1
12 Angel Of Empire Prat Brad H. Cox Albaugh Family Stables LLC 8-1
13 Forte I. Ortiz JR. Todd A. Pletcher Repole Stable and St. Elias Stable 3-1
14 Raise Can Corrales Ben Colebrook Warren, Andrew and Warren, Rania 15-1
15 Derma Sotogake Lemaire Hidetaka Otonashi Hiroyuki Asanuma 10-1
16 Rocket Can Alvarado William I. Mott Frank Fletcher Racing Operations, Inc. 15-1
SCR Lord Miles Lopez Todd A. Pletcher Vegso Racing Stable 30-1
17 Continuar Sakai Yoshito Yahagi Lion Race Horse Co. Ltd. 50-1
18 Cyclone Mischief J. Rosario D. Romans Albaugh Family Stables LLC and Castleton Lyons. 30-1
19 Mandarin Hero Kazushi Kimura Terunobu Fujita Hiroaki Arai. 20-1
20 King Russell Rafael Bejarano Ron Moquett Jones, Brereton C. and Naber Racing, LLC 50-1
Posted on