2023 Kentucky Derby Post Positions, Entries, Odds and Predictions: Hit Show

2023 Kentucky Derby Post Positions, Entries, Odds and Predictions: Hit Show

The 149th Kentucky Derby (G1) presented by Woodford Reserve will be run on Saturday, May 6, at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. The purse is $3 million, with $1.86 million going to the winner. US Racing is profiling each horse in the field. The post-position draw is Monday, May 1. Profiles will be updated with post positions and odds following the draw.

By US Racing Team

Make no mistake, Hit Show knows how to win, with three victories in five career starts. Just because he was in the middle of a three-horse jostling match and finished second in the Wood Memorial (G2) in his most recent start doesn’t mean his Derby chances have diminished.

The Gary and Mary West-owned gray colt will show up at Churchill Downs as one of trainer Brad Cox’s four starters.

A year ago, Cox sent out three starters with his best finish a seventh by Tawny Port. Two years ago, the two-time Eclipse Award winning trainer sent out Mandaloun, who ran second but became the official winner when Medina Spirit was disqualified for a race-day medication violation.

A betting favorite at every stop he’s made, Hit Show won at first asking at Keeneland on Oct. 9, ran fourth at Churchill Downs on Nov. 26 after a bobble at the start, then won at Oaklawn Park on Dec. 17 before jumping on the Derby trail with a 5 ¼-length win in the Withers (G3) at Aqueduct. His 40 Derby-qualifying points in the Wood boosted his point total to 60 – 11th on the leaderboard.

2023 Kentucky Derby Entries: Hit Show

Post position: 1

Odds: 30-1

Trainer: Brad Cox

Jockey: Manny Franco

Owner: Gary and Mary West

Career record: 5-3-1-0

Career earnings: $404,375

Derby qualifying points: 60 (11th)

Best Equibase speed figure: 99

Pedigree: Candy Ride-Actress, by Tapit

Color: Gray

Running style: Stalker

Notes: Cox led all trainers with 38 horses nominated to the Triple Crown races … his other scheduled starters on Derby Day are Angel of Empire, Verifying, and Jace’s Road … Franco finished second in the 2020 Derby aboard Tiz the Law.

Kentucky Derby 2023 Odds

PP Horse Jockey Trainer Owner Odds
1 Hit Show Franco Brad H. Cox West, Gary and Mary 30-1
2 Verifying Gaffalione Brad H. Cox Poulin, Jonathan, Westerberg, Magnier, Mrs. John, Smith, Derrick and Tabor, Michael B. 15-1
3 Two Phil’s Loveberry Larry Rivelli Patricia’s Hope LLC and Sagan, Phillip 12-1
4 Conficence Game Graham J. Keith Desormeaux Don’t Tell My Wife Stables 20-1
5 Tapit Trice Saez Todd A. Pletcher Whisper Hill Farm, LLC and Gainesway Stable (Antony Beck) 5-1
6 Kinkngbarns J. Ortiz Todd A. Pletcher Spendthrift Farm LLC 12-1
7 Reincartnate Velazquez Tim Yakteen SF Racing LLC, Starlight Racing, Madaket Stables LLC, Masterson, Robert E., Stonestreet Stables LLC, Schoenfarber, Jay A., Waves Edge Capital LLC and Donovan, Catherine 50-1
8 Mage Castellano Gustavo Delgado OGMA Investments, LLC, Restrepo, Ramiro, Sterling Racing LLC and CMNWLTH 15-1
SCR Skinner Hernandez John A. Shirreffs C R K Stable 20-1
SCR Practical Move Vazquez Tim Yakteen Amestoy, Jr., Pierre Jean, Amestoy, Leslie A. and Beasley, Roger K. SCR
9 Disarm Rosario Steven M. Asmussen Winchell Thoroughbreds LLC 30/1
10 Jace’s Road Geroux Brad H. Cox West Point Thoroughbreds and Albaugh Family Stables LLC 15-1
11 Sun Thunder Hernandez Jr Kenneth G. McPeek R.T Racing Stable and Cypress Creek Equine 30-1
12 Angel Of Empire Prat Brad H. Cox Albaugh Family Stables LLC 8-1
13 Forte I. Ortiz JR. Todd A. Pletcher Repole Stable and St. Elias Stable 3-1
14 Raise Can Corrales Ben Colebrook Warren, Andrew and Warren, Rania 15-1
15 Derma Sotogake Lemaire Hidetaka Otonashi Hiroyuki Asanuma 10-1
16 Rocket Can Alvarado William I. Mott Frank Fletcher Racing Operations, Inc. 15-1
SCR Lord Miles Lopez Todd A. Pletcher Vegso Racing Stable 30-1
17 Continuar Sakai Yoshito Yahagi Lion Race Horse Co. Ltd. 50-1
18 Cyclone Mischief J. Rosario D. Romans Albaugh Family Stables LLC and Castleton Lyons. 30-1
19 Mandarin Hero Kazushi Kimura Terunobu Fujita Hiroaki Arai. 20-1
20 King Russell Rafael Bejarano Ron Moquett Jones, Brereton C. and Naber Racing, LLC 50-1
Posted on