2023 Kentucky Derby Post Positions, Entries, Odds and Predictions: Continuar

2023 Kentucky Derby Post Positions, Entries, Odds and Predictions: Continuar

The 149th Kentucky Derby (G1) presented by Woodford Reserve will be run on Saturday, May 6, at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. The purse is $3 million, with $1.86 million going to the winner. US Racing is profiling each horse in the field. The post-position draw is Monday, May 1. Profiles will be updated with post positions and odds following the draw.

By US Racing Team

A third-place finish in the UAE Derby (G2) also came with an invitation to compete in the Kentucky Derby (G1) for earning 40 qualifying points in Japan’s road to the Derby series.

That mean the chestnut colt will give Japan a second chance to win its first Kentucky Derby. Derma Sotogake, winner of the UAE Derby seems to be the more talented of the two and could be among the top contenders.

Continuar is 0-for-2 in 2023, but assistant trainer Takahide Ando says he’s a relaxed horse, noting trips to Saudi Arabia and Dubai “so he’s had a lot of experience around various types of situations and people. So, we think that should be an advantage.”

Previously, two Japan-breds ran in the Derby – Master Fencer ran sixth in 2019 and Crown Pride finished 13th in 2022.

Continuar won two of his first three races during his 2-year-old campaign in Japan, his lone defeat to Derma Sotogake. He was fifth in the Saudi Derby (G3) before hitting the board for third in the UAE Derby.

2023 Kentucky Derby Entries: Continuar

Post position: 20

Odds: 50-1

Trainer: Yoshito Yahagi

Jockey: Ryusei Sakai

Owner: Lion Race Horse Co. Ltd

Career record: 5-2-1-1

Career earnings: $337,889

Derby qualifying points: 40 (20th)

Best Equibase speed figure: NA

Pedigree: Drefong-Pan De Ring, by King Kamehameha

Color: Chestnut

Running style: Mid-pack

Notes: Derma Sotogake and Continuar breezed Wednesday, April 27, at Churchill Downs. Continuar went 4 furlongs in 50 seconds, Derma Sotogake 5 furlongs in 1:01.40 … Horses coming from the UAE Derby are 0-for-18 in the Kentucky Derby (best finish was fifth by Master of Hounds in 2011).

Kentucky Derby 2023 Odds

PP Horse Jockey Trainer Owner Odds
1 Hit Show Franco Brad H. Cox West, Gary and Mary 30-1
2 Verifying Gaffalione Brad H. Cox Poulin, Jonathan, Westerberg, Magnier, Mrs. John, Smith, Derrick and Tabor, Michael B. 15-1
3 Two Phil’s Loveberry Larry Rivelli Patricia’s Hope LLC and Sagan, Phillip 12-1
4 Conficence Game Graham J. Keith Desormeaux Don’t Tell My Wife Stables 20-1
5 Tapit Trice Saez Todd A. Pletcher Whisper Hill Farm, LLC and Gainesway Stable (Antony Beck) 5-1
6 Kinkngbarns J. Ortiz Todd A. Pletcher Spendthrift Farm LLC 12-1
7 Reincartnate Velazquez Tim Yakteen SF Racing LLC, Starlight Racing, Madaket Stables LLC, Masterson, Robert E., Stonestreet Stables LLC, Schoenfarber, Jay A., Waves Edge Capital LLC and Donovan, Catherine 50-1
8 Mage Castellano Gustavo Delgado OGMA Investments, LLC, Restrepo, Ramiro, Sterling Racing LLC and CMNWLTH 15-1
SCR Skinner Hernandez John A. Shirreffs C R K Stable 20-1
SCR Practical Move Vazquez Tim Yakteen Amestoy, Jr., Pierre Jean, Amestoy, Leslie A. and Beasley, Roger K. SCR
9 Disarm Rosario Steven M. Asmussen Winchell Thoroughbreds LLC 30/1
10 Jace’s Road Geroux Brad H. Cox West Point Thoroughbreds and Albaugh Family Stables LLC 15-1
11 Sun Thunder Hernandez Jr Kenneth G. McPeek R.T Racing Stable and Cypress Creek Equine 30-1
12 Angel Of Empire Prat Brad H. Cox Albaugh Family Stables LLC 8-1
13 Forte I. Ortiz JR. Todd A. Pletcher Repole Stable and St. Elias Stable 3-1
14 Raise Can Corrales Ben Colebrook Warren, Andrew and Warren, Rania 15-1
15 Derma Sotogake Lemaire Hidetaka Otonashi Hiroyuki Asanuma 10-1
16 Rocket Can Alvarado William I. Mott Frank Fletcher Racing Operations, Inc. 15-1
SCR Lord Miles Lopez Todd A. Pletcher Vegso Racing Stable 30-1
17 Continuar Sakai Yoshito Yahagi Lion Race Horse Co. Ltd. 50-1
18 Cyclone Mischief J. Rosario D. Romans Albaugh Family Stables LLC and Castleton Lyons. 30-1
19 Mandarin Hero Kazushi Kimura Terunobu Fujita Hiroaki Arai. 20-1
20 King Russell Rafael Bejarano Ron Moquett Jones, Brereton C. and Naber Racing, LLC 50-1
Posted on