Kentucky Derby Favorites

Kentucky Derby Favorites

By US Racing Team

Favorites in the Kentucky Derby seem to do well. Since 1908 and the advent of pari-mutuel wagering, favorites have won 39 times for roughly a 35 percent strike rate. In the years before pari-mutuel wagering between 1875 and 1907, sentimental favorites won 16 times for a near 50 percent win rate.

Essential Quality at The Travers Stakes – Joe Labozzetta

The shortest-priced favorite in Derby history was Bimelech, who finished second a 2-5 in 1940. Count Fleet (1943) and Citation (1948), who was coupled with stablemate Coaltown, were also 2-5 when they won the first jewel under the Twin Spires. Seattle Slew was 1-2 in 1977, as was Johnstown in 1939 and Spectacular Bid in 1978.

The longest-priced favorite title in Kentucky Derby history belongs to Lookin at Lucky, who was sixth at odds of 6.30-1 in 2010. Harlan’s Holiday was 6-1 in 2002 and Sweetsouthernsaint was 5.50-1 in 2006. In 2013 Orb was the longest-priced favorite to win when he left the gate at odds of 5.40-1. Other longer favorites to win are Street Sense, who was 4.90-1 in 2007; and Always Dreaming, who was 4.70-1 in 2017.

In the re-arranged Triple Crown in 2020, Belmont Stakes (G1) winner Tiz The Law left the gate at .70-1 (3-5) and finished second to Authentic. Essential Quality was the near 3-1 favorite in 2021 and was third, while Epicenter was the 4-1 lukewarm favorite a year ago before finishing second to longshot Rich Strike.

Kentucky Derby 2023 Odds

PP Horse Jockey Trainer Owner Odds
1 Hit Show Franco Brad H. Cox West, Gary and Mary 30-1
2 Verifying Gaffalione Brad H. Cox Poulin, Jonathan, Westerberg, Magnier, Mrs. John, Smith, Derrick and Tabor, Michael B. 15-1
3 Two Phil’s Loveberry Larry Rivelli Patricia’s Hope LLC and Sagan, Phillip 12-1
4 Conficence Game Graham J. Keith Desormeaux Don’t Tell My Wife Stables 20-1
5 Tapit Trice Saez Todd A. Pletcher Whisper Hill Farm, LLC and Gainesway Stable (Antony Beck) 5-1
6 Kinkngbarns J. Ortiz Todd A. Pletcher Spendthrift Farm LLC 12-1
7 Reincartnate Velazquez Tim Yakteen SF Racing LLC, Starlight Racing, Madaket Stables LLC, Masterson, Robert E., Stonestreet Stables LLC, Schoenfarber, Jay A., Waves Edge Capital LLC and Donovan, Catherine 50-1
8 Mage Castellano Gustavo Delgado OGMA Investments, LLC, Restrepo, Ramiro, Sterling Racing LLC and CMNWLTH 15-1
SCR Skinner Hernandez John A. Shirreffs C R K Stable 20-1
SCR Practical Move Vazquez Tim Yakteen Amestoy, Jr., Pierre Jean, Amestoy, Leslie A. and Beasley, Roger K. SCR
9 Disarm Rosario Steven M. Asmussen Winchell Thoroughbreds LLC 30/1
10 Jace’s Road Geroux Brad H. Cox West Point Thoroughbreds and Albaugh Family Stables LLC 15-1
11 Sun Thunder Hernandez Jr Kenneth G. McPeek R.T Racing Stable and Cypress Creek Equine 30-1
12 Angel Of Empire Prat Brad H. Cox Albaugh Family Stables LLC 8-1
13 Forte I. Ortiz JR. Todd A. Pletcher Repole Stable and St. Elias Stable 3-1
14 Raise Can Corrales Ben Colebrook Warren, Andrew and Warren, Rania 15-1
15 Derma Sotogake Lemaire Hidetaka Otonashi Hiroyuki Asanuma 10-1
16 Rocket Can Alvarado William I. Mott Frank Fletcher Racing Operations, Inc. 15-1
SCR Lord Miles Lopez Todd A. Pletcher Vegso Racing Stable 30-1
17 Continuar Sakai Yoshito Yahagi Lion Race Horse Co. Ltd. 50-1
18 Cyclone Mischief J. Rosario D. Romans Albaugh Family Stables LLC and Castleton Lyons. 30-1
19 Mandarin Hero Kazushi Kimura Terunobu Fujita Hiroaki Arai. 20-1
20 King Russell Rafael Bejarano Ron Moquett Hiroaki Arai. 50-1
Posted on