Kentucky Jockey Club Stakes

Distance: 1 1/16 miles (8.5 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Two-year-olds
Weight: Assigned
Purse: US$150,000+
Location: Churchill Downs

Race Type: Kentucky Derby Prep Race
Road to the Roses Points: 1st=10 points; 2nd=4 points; 3rd=2 points; 4th=1 point

The Kentucky Jockey Club Stakes is an American Thoroughbred horse race run annually during the last week of November at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. A Grade II event, the race is open to two-year-olds willing to race one and one-sixteenth miles on the dirt.

Since it was inaugurated in 1920, five horses have won the Kentucky Jockey Club Stakes and then returned the next spring to the win the Kentucky Derby.


Bet on Jockey Club Stakes

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet onStakes Races today!


Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2018 Signalman Brian Joseph Hernandez, Jr. Kenneth G. McPeek 1:45.29
2017 Enticed Junior Alvarado Kiaran McLaughlin 1:44.42
2016 McCraken Brian Joseph Hernandez, Jr. Ian R. Wilkes 1:44.15
2015 Airoforce Julien Leparoux Mark E. Casse 1:45.48
2014 El Kabeir Calvin H. Borel John P. Terranova, II 1:44.82
2013 Tapiture Jesus Lopez Castanon Chuck Peery 1:43.51
2012 Uncaptured Miguel Mena Mark E. Casse 1:44.97
2011 Gemologist Javier Castellano Todd Pletcher 1:44.46
2010 Santiva Shaun Bridgmohan Eddie Kenneally 1:45.31
2009 Super Saver Calvin Borel Todd Pletcher 1:42.83
2008 Beethoven Calvin Borel John T. Ward, Jr. 1:44.14
2007 Anak Nakal Julien Leparoux Nick Zito 1:43.16
2006 Tiz Wonderful John Velazquez Scott Blasi 1:42.84
2005 Private Vow Shaun Bridgmohan Steve Asmussen 1:45.80
2004 Greater Good John McKee Robert E. Holthus 1:45.14
2003 The Cliff's Edge Shane Sellers Nick Zito 1:45.50
2002 Soto Larry Melancon Michael W. Dickinson 1:44.67
2001 Repent Tony D'Amico Kenneth G. McPeek 1:44.42
2000 Dollar Bill Calvin Borel Dallas Stewart 1:47.18
1999 Captain Steve Robby Albarado Bob Baffert 1:43.14
1998 Exploit Chris McCarron Bob Baffert 1:44.16
1997 Cape Town Willie Martinez D. Wayne Lukas 1:43.97
1996 Concerto Carlos Marquez, Jr. John Tammaro III 1:46.91
1995 Ide Craig Perret Peter M. Vestal 1:44.31
1994 Jambalaya Jazz Sam Maple John T. Ward, Jr. 1:46.46
1993 War Deputy Garrett Gomez Anthony L. Reinstedler 1:46.75
1992 Wild Gale Shane Sellers Michael J. Doyle 1:45.64
1991 Dance Floor Chris Antley D. Wayne Lukas 1:45.21
1990 Richman Pat Day William I. Mott 1:45.40
1989 Grand Canyon Angel Cordero, Jr. D. Wayne Lukas 1:44.60
Proudly featured on: