Battle Heats Up in Tempted Stakes

Tempted Stakes

October 24, 2013

The 2012 winner of the Tempted Stakes, My Happy Face, won her first stakes after two tries when she won the Tempted Stakes (gr. III) at Aqueduct with jockey Ramon Dominguez. The 2-year-old filly by Tiz Wonderful went off at odds of 1-4 for the win.

My Happy Face battled with Cue the Moon for most of the race and the winning decision came within a head. Ruby Lips finished third with Unabashed in fourth.

The filly won in a time of 1:36.32. She was trained by Rudy Rodriguez and owned by Michael Dubb. She is out of the Siberian Summer mare Summer Star and was bred by Spendthrift Farm and Shawhan Place.

My Happy Face is the 9-to-5 morning line choice for teh 2013 Charles Town Oaks. She made her seasonal debut in January’s Forward Gal (G2) at Gulfstream where she finished second to Kauai Katie, then won the listed Lotka Stakes at Belmont Park before posting a runner-up effort behind divisional leader Princess of Sylmar in the Coaching Club American Oaks (G1). Most recently, she endured a wide trip and came up a neck short as the 2.00-to-1 second choice in the Test (G1) at Saratoga.

Bet on Tempted Stakes

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!


Stakes Race Details

Location Aqueduct Racetrack
Distance 1 mile (8 furlongs)
Track Dirt, left-handed
Qualification Two-year-old fillies


Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2017 Daisy Kendrick Carmouche John Servis 1:37.13
2016 Miss Sky Warrior Paco Lopez Kelly J. Breen 1:38.62
2015 Big World Jose L. Ortiz Anthony W. Dutrow 1:37.19
2014 Jacaranda Jose L. Ortiz Michael E. Hushion 1:40.24
2013 Stopchargingmaria Javier Castellano Todd Pletcher 1:38.77
2012 My Happy Face Jose Lezcano H. James Bond 1:36.32
2011 Believe You Can Gabriel Saez Larry Jones 1:11.20
2010 Full Moon Blues Malcolm Franklin Timothy Tullock Jr. 1:38.56
2009 Ailalea Eibar Coa Todd Pletcher 1:36.75
2008 Livin Lovin Ramon Dominguez Steve Klesaris 1:36.89
2007 Elusive Lady Eibar Coa John Kimmel 1:38.40
2006 Successful Outlook Joe Bravo Scott Blasi 1:37.36
2005 Better Now Javier Castellano Mark Hennig 1:38.35
2004 Summer Raven Stewart Elliott Todd Pletcher 1:36.09
2003 La Reina John Velazquez Claude McGaughey III 1:36.15
2002 Chimichurri John Velazquez Todd Pletcher 1:37.52
2001 Smok'n Frolic John Velazquez Todd Pletcher 1:37.77
2000 Two Item Limit Richard Migliore Stephen DiMauro 1:38.53
1999 Shawnee Country Jorge Chavez D. Wayne Lukas 1:38.60
1998 Oh What a Windfall Jerry Bailey Claude McGaughey III 1:39.84
1997 Dancing With Ruth Tommy Turner Benjamin Perkins Jr. 1:37.55
1996 Ajina Jerry Bailey William Mott 1:36.59
1995 No Race
1994 Special Broad Julie Krone Richard W. Small 1:37.20
1993 Sovereign Kitty John Velazquez Richard Schosberg 1:46.84
1992 True Affair Joe Bravo Gary Contessa 1:47.48
1991 Deputation David Lidberg Claude McGaughey III 1:46.74
Proudly featured on: