Who will take the Red Smith Handicap

Red Smith Handicap

November 5, 2013

Location: Aqueduct Racetrack
Inaugurated: 1960
Race type: Thoroughbred - Flat racing
Distance 1 3/8 miles (11 furlongs)
Track: Grass, left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-olds & up
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $150,000

The Red Smith Handicap is a race on turf open to horses age three and older, it is run on the first week of November at Aqueduct. The inaugural race was in 1960 under the name, the Edgemere Handicap. In 1981, it changed to Red Smith Handicap.

In his second year, Boisterous scored an easy victory in the Grade 2, $200,000 Red Smith Handicap at Aqueduct Racetrack on Saturday, wrapping up his season with identical back-to-back stakes wins.

A repeat winner of last month’s Grade 3 Knickerbocker at Belmont Park, Boisterous lived up to his role as the 2-5 favorite as he successfully defended his title in the 53rd edition of the Red Smith in 2012. With Hall of Fame jockey Edgar Prado aboard, the 5-year-old son of Distorted Humor tracked Bombaguia through tepid fractions of 52.29 seconds for the opening half-mile mile and 1:43.23 for the mile, moved into striking position around the final turn and took command at the head of the stretch before drawing clear to a three-length victory over Lake Drop.

Boisterous completed 1 3/8 miles in 2:19.38 over the yielding turf course.

“The horse ran huge,” said Prado. “He showed up one more time and did it pretty easily.”

The victory was the third in seven 2012 starts for Boisterous, who also won the Grade 3 Fort Marcy in May at Belmont, ran second in the Grade 3 Arlington Handicap and third in the Grade 1 Manhattan Handicap. His only off-the-board performance came in August when he finished ninth, beaten 5 ¾ lengths, in the Grade 1 Arlington Million.

“He wasn’t beaten that badly [in the Million], but I think he’s the kind of horse who appreciates the fall weather more than the summer heat,” said Buzzy Tenney, assistant to winning Hall of Fame trainer Shug McGaughey. “I believe this will be the last race of the year for him. We’ll take him down to Florida and bring him back in the spring, just like last year.”


Bet on Red Smith Handicap


US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!



Red Smith Handicap Past Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
2018 Village King 4 John R. Velazquez Todd Pletcher 1:52.95
2017 Spring Quality 5 Edgar Prado Graham Motion 2:17.72
2016 Bigger Picture 5 Jose L. Ortiz Michael J. Maker 2:15.46
2015 Mr. Maybe 4 Irad Ortiz Jr. Chad C. Brown 2:17.49
2014 Dynamic Sky 4 Cornelio Velasquez Mark E. Casse 2:18.85
2013 Imagining 5 Joel Rosario Claude R. McGaughey III 2:18.43
2012 Boisterous 5 Edgar Prado Shug McGaughey 2:19.38
2011 Boisterous 4 Alan Garcia Shug McGaughey 2:20.26
2010 Grassy 4 Joe Bravo Christophe Clement 2:20.06
2009 Expansion 4 Channing Hill Chad Brown 2:18.93
2008 Strike a Deal 4 Chuck C. Lopez Alan E. Goldberg 2:23.28
2007 Dave 6 Joe Bravo Barclay Tagg 2:21.45
2006 Naughty New Yorker 5 Jean-Luc Samyn Patrick J. Kelly 2:04.52
2005 King's Drama 5 Edgar Prado Robert J. Frankel 2:15.37
2004 Dreadnaught 4 Jean-Luc Samyn Thomas Voss 2:18.87
2003 Balto Star 5 John Velazquez Todd A. Pletcher 2:18.86
2002 Evening Attire 4 Shaun Bridgmohan Patrick J. Kelly 2:14.81
2001 Mr. Pleasentfar 4 Jose A. Santos Martin D. Wolfson 2:16.94
2000 Cetewayo 6 Richard Migliore Michael Dickinson 2:17.93
1999 Monarch's Maze 3 Joe Bravo Patrick J. Kelly 2:14.44
1998 Musical Ghost 6 John Velazquez Mark A. Hennig 2:15.53
1997 Instant Friendship 4 John Velazquez Leo O'Brien 2:17.08
1996 Mr. Bluebird 5 Mike E. Smith John C. Kimmel 2:15.35
1995 Flag Down 5 Jose A. Santos Christophe Clement 2:22.03
1994 Franchise Player 5 Dale Beckner Philip G. Johnson 2:20.53
1993 Royal Mountain Inn 4 Julie Krone Barclay Tagg 1:59.80
1992 Montserrat 4 Julie Krone W. Elliott Walden 2:00.20
1991 Who's To Pay 5 Jerry Bailey MacKenzie Miller 1:58.00
1990 Yankee Affair 8 Jose A. Santos Henry L. Carroll 2:00.20
1989 Rambo Dancer 5 Jose A. Santos Leroy Jolley 2:01.00
1988 Pay the Butler 4 Robbie Davis Robert J. Frankel 2:01.40
1987 Theatrical 5 Pat Day William I. Mott 2:00.80
1986 Equalize 4 Walter Guerra Jan H. Nerud 2:02.20
1986 Divulge 5 Jean Cruguet Gasper Moschera 1:59.00
1985 Sharannpour 4 Angel Cordero Jr. Robert J. Frankel 2:04.20
1984 Hero's Honor 4 Jerry Bailey MacKenzie Miller 2:02.20
1983 Super Sunrise 4 Craig Perret Warren A. Croll Jr. 2:06.80
1983 Thunder Puddles 4 Jean-Luc Samyn John P. Campo 2:06.40
1982 Highland Blade 4 Jacinto Vasquez David A. Whiteley 2:06.40
1981 Match the Hatch 5 Kenny Skinner Philip G. Johnson 1:59.60
1980 Marquee Universal 4 Hector Pilar Alec Bullock 1:58.80
1979 No race        
1978 Tiller 4 Jeffrey Fell David A. Whiteley 2:00.20
1977 Clout 5 George Martens William O. Hicks 1:40.00
1977 Quick Card 4 Angel Cordero Jr. Thomas J. Kelly 1:39.60
1976 Erwin Boy 5 Ron Turcotte James P. Conway 2:01.20
1975 Telefonico 4 Craig Perret Lou M. Goldfine 2:03.00
1974 Take Off 5 Ron Turcotte Frank Catrone 2:00.40
1973 Red Reality 7 Jorge Velasquez MacKenzie Miller 2:13.20
1972 New Alibhai 4 Frank Iannelli Ralph W. McIlvain 2:02.40
1971 Drumtop 5 Chuck Baltazar Roger Laurin 2:16.60
1970 Drumtop 4 Angel Cordero Jr. Roger Laurin 2:20.40
1969 Majetta 5 Angel Cordero Jr. Angel Penna Sr. 2:19.00
1968 High Hat 4 Eddie Belmonte Kay E. Jensen 2:20.20
1967 Ginger Fizz 5 Fernando Toro Thomas J. Kelly 1:55.00
1966 Spoon Bait 4 John L. Rotz Ivor G. Balding 1:54.40
1965 Tenacle 5 Bobby Ussery Homer C. Pardue 1:55.40
1964 Will I Rule 5 Braulio Baeza Joseph Nash 1:55.80
1963 Vimy Ridge 4 Sam Boulmetis Thomas J. Barry 1:59.40
1962 Wise Ship 5 Heliodoro Gustines Jacob Byer 2:16.00
1961 Wolfram 5 Ismael Valenzuela Burley Parke 2:15.00
1960 North Pole II 4 Sam Boulmetis Sr. Sidney J. Smith 2:15.00
Proudly featured on: