2020 Breeders’ Cup Turf Odds: Statistics, Best Picks, Betting, Handicapping and History

Breeders’ Cup Turf

The Longines Breeders’ Cup Turf is contested at the distance of 1 1⁄2 miles which, along with the $4 million purse, makes it an attractive target for turf specialists from both North America and around the world. It is one of the seven initial Breeders’ Cup championship races and will be contested for the 37th time this year.

Horse Racing - USR Photo

BC Turf – USR Photo

Of the 36 previous runnings, 20 were claimed by European invaders led by Irish champion trainer Aidan O’Brien, who has sent out six winners – 2002, High Chaparral; 2003, High Chaparral (DH with Johar); 2011, St. Nicholas Abbey; 2013, Magician; 2015, Found; and 2016, Highland Reel. All were owned by the Coolmore partnership of Sue Maginer, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith.

Top European jockey Frankie Dettori leads all riders with five winners on his championship resume — 1999, Daylami; 2001, Fantastic Light; 2006, Red Rocks; 2010, Dangerous Midge; and 2018, Enable. Both Conduit (2008, 2009) and High Chaparral (2002, 2003) have won this race twice. High Chaparral dead-heated with Johar for the win in 2003 in the first and only dead heat in Breeders’ Cup history.

The fastest time for this race was the 2:22.83 mark Little Mike logged in 2012. In 2018 the recently retired Enable became the first horse to win both the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe and Breeders’ Cup Turf in the same year.

Breeders’ Cup Turf Statistics

Breeders’ Cup winners who went on to win the Eclipse Award for champion turf male:

Manila 1986

Theatrical 1987

Kotashaan 1993

Northern Spur 1995

Chief Bearhart 1997

Buck’s Boy, 1998

Daylami, 1999

Kalanisi, 2000

Fantastic Light, 2001

High Chaparral, 2002

High Chaparral, 2003

English Channel, 2007

Conduit, 2008

Main Sequence, 2014

Kotashaan in 1993 and Bricks and Mortar a year ago are the two Breeders’ Cup Turf winners to also earn American Horse of the Year honors.

Breeders’ Cup Turf Odds

2020 Breeders’ Cup Turf Odds and Post Position
PP  Horse  Odds  Trainer  Jockey 
1 Arklow 5-1 Brad Cox Florent Geroux
2 Magical (IRE) 5-2 Aidan P. O’Brien Ryan Moore
3 Tarnawa (IRE) 6-1 Dermot K. Weld Christophe Soumillon
4 Mehdaayih (GB) 30-1 John H.M. Gosden Joel Rosario
5 Donjah (GER) 30-1 Henk Grewe Clement Lecoeuvre
6 Lord North (IRE) 8-1 John H.M. Gosden Lanfranco Dettori
7 United 8-1 Richard E. Mandella Flavien Prat
8 Red King 20-1 Philip D’Amato Umberto Rispoli
9 Channel Maker 5-1 William I. Mott Manuel Franco
10 Mogul (GB) 4-1 Aidan P. O’Brien Pierre-Charles Boudot
Posted on