In Trouble is on point for the Nashua Stakes

Nashua Stakes

September 29, 2013

There were five 2-year-olds entered in the $196,000 Futurity Stakes Sept. 29 at Belmont Park, but it turned out to be a two-horse race as fast-developing In Trouble topped favored Corfu for a comfortable 2 1/4-length victory.

With Joe Rocco Jr. aboard, In Trouble ran six furlongs in 1:09.64, nearly a second faster than 2-year-old fillies ran in the Matron Stakes (gr. II) a race earlier.

In Trouble, winner of a key maiden special weight heat Aug. 10 at Saratoga Race Course in his debut, is now 2-for-2 for trainer Tony Dutrow and owner Team D.

"Having done this a long time, I was looking forward to today," Dutrow said. "I was feeling that we have a talented horse and I'm not surprised at what I saw. I wasn't predicting this, but I'm not surprised. He's pretty good."

Leaving from the rail, In Trouble, the 5-2 second choice, had the lead out of the gate before overtaken by Corfu, the 9-5 pick with John Velazquez aboard. Corfu, who stumbled a bit out of the gate, clipped off quick quarter mile splits of :22.09 and :44.75 while opening a 2 1/2-length advantage over In Trouble as the rest of field fell in behind.

In Trouble responded to urging from Rocco to challenge on the outside in the stretch, reached even terms with the Corfu past the furlong marker. He took over with a sixteenth of a mile to run and was kept to his task by Rocco while widening his lead to the wire.

Rocco said he was able to get In Trouble, a son of Tiz Wonderful , to rate kindly before launching the winning bid.

"He broke really sharp, and I'd rather be outside dictating when we can move than be inside and be under someone else who can force us," Rocco said. "It worked out when I saw I could get behind (Corfu) and get outside of him, that's when I went outside and did it."

Dutrow said In Trouble is to point for the Nashua Stakes Nov. 3 at Aqueduct Racetrack.

"This was the second race of his life and he was able to relax and give up the lead and finish up against quality horses," Dutrow said. "I think that's a big statement for him."


Bet on Nashua Stakes

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!


Stakes Race Details

Location: Aqueduct Racetrack
Distance: 1 mile (8 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Two-year-olds
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $100,000-added


Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time
2017 Avery Island Joe Bravo Kiaran McLaughlin Godolphin 1:37.58
2016 Hemsworth Antonio Gallardo Thomas Albertrani Godolphin 1:38.70
2015 Mohaymen Junior Alvarado Kiaran McLaughlin Shadwell Stable 1:36.01
2014 Blofeld John Velazquez Todd Pletcher Glencrest Farm/JSM Equine 1:38.89
2013 Cairo Prince Luis Saez Kiaran McLaughlin Namcook Stables/Braverman/et al 1:37.59
2012 Violence Javier Castellano Todd Pletcher Black Rock Stables 1:35.32
2011 Vexor David Cohen John Kimmel Goldmark Farm 1:10.71
2010 To Honor and Serve Jose Lezcano William I. Mott Live Oak Plantation 1:35.86
2009 Buddy's Saint Jose Lezcano Bruce N. Levine Kingfield Stables 1:35.67
2008 Break Water Edison Alan Garcia John Kimmel Eli Gindi 1:35.86
2007 Etched Alan Garcia Kiaran McLaughlin Darley Stable 1:36.96
2006 Day Pass John R. Velazquez Kiaran McLaughlin Darley Stable 1:36.09
2005 Bluegrass Cat John R. Velazquez Todd A. Pletcher WinStar Farm 1:38.02
2004 Rockport Harbor Stewart Elliott John Servis Fox Hill Farms Inc. 1:36.60
2003 Read the Footnotes Jerry D. Bailey Richard Violette Jr. Klaravich Stables 1:36.40
2002 Added Edge Patrick Husbands Mark Casse Team Valor 1:36.60
2001 Listen Here Jerry D. Bailey William I. Mott Kim Nardelli 1:37.60
2000 Ommadon Aaron Gryder Thomas M. Walsh Sorin Stables 1:36.60
1999 Mass Market Mike E. Smith Ben W. Perkins Jr. New Farm 1:38.60
1998 Doneraile Court Jerry D. Bailey Nicholas P. Zito J. Magnier 1:36.00
1997 Coronado's Quest Mike E. Smith C. R. McGaughey III Stuart S. Janney III 1:37.00
1996 Jules Jose Santos Alan E. Goldberg Jayeff B Stables 1:36.80
1995 No Race
1994 Devious Course Frank Alvarado H. James Bond Rudlein Stable 1:37.40
1993 Popol's Gold Herb McCauley William H. Turner Jr. Stephen Stavrides 1:46.60
1992 Dalhart Mike E. Smith Thomas Bohannan Loblolly Stable 1:44.40
1991 Pine Bluff Craig Perret Thomas Bohannan Loblolly Stable 1:46.00
1990 Kyle's Our Man Jerry D. Bailey John M. Veitch Darby Dan Farm 1:45.40
1989 Champagneforashley Jacinto Vasquez Howard M. Tesher Lions Head Farm 1:45.20
1988 Traskwood Angel Cordero Jr. George R. Arnold II Loblolly Stable 1:45.20
1987 Cougarized Jose Santos D. Wayne Lukas Lloyd R. French Jr. 1:46.00
1986 Bold Summit Chris Antley Richard E. Dutrow Jr. Alvin J. Akman 1:45.00
1985 Raja's Revenge Robbie Davis Frank LaBoccetta Edward Anchel 1:44.40
1984 Stone White Robbie Davis Gilbert Puentes Gilbert Puentes 1:38.20
1983 Don Rickles Angel Cordero Jr. John Parisella Theodore M. Sabarese 1:38.40
1982 I Enclose Ruben Hernandez Edward I. Kelly Brookfield Farms 1:37.60
1981 Our Escapade Don MacBeth Roger Laurin Reginald N. Webster 1:36.80
1980 A Run Chris McCarron Larry S. Barrera Arron U. Jones 1:37.20
1979 Googoplex Laffit Pincay Jr. Pancho Martin Robert N. Lehmann 1:36.40
1978 Instrument Landing Jeffrey Fell David A. Whiteley Pen-Y-Bryn Farm 1:37.00
1977 Quadratic Eddie Maple Woody Stephens August Belmont IV 1:35.40
1976 Nearly On Time Jacinto Vazquez Leroy Jolley Mrs. Moody Jolley 1:35.60
1975 Lord Henribee Eddie Maple William H. Turner Jr. Milton Ritzenberg 1:35.60
Proudly featured on: