Tampa Bay Derby

The Tampa Bay Derby has a purse of $350,000 Guaranteed, with 60% going to the winner, 20% to the second place finisher, 10% to third, 5% to fourth, 3% to fifth and 2% to sixth.

This field will be limited to twelve starters. Nominations closed two weeks before the race. If more than 12 horses are nominated, the twelve starters will be determined with preference given to Grade I, II or III Stakes winners in that order, then those that have accumulated the highest career earnings.

Tampa Bay Derby Race Information

Location: Tampa Bay Downs, Tampa, Florida, United States
Inaugurated: 1981
Race type: Thoroughbred - Flat racing
Distance: 11/16 miles (8½ furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-olds
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $350,000
Grade: II

Kentucky Derby Prep Race

The Tampa Bay Derby is part of the Kentucky Derby Prep Races - Championship Series, where the first four finishers will receive the following points in their race for the roses: 1st - 50points, 2nd - 20points, 3rd - 10points, 4th - 5points

Tampa Bay Derby Race Facts:

Fastest Time: 1:43:11 Street Sense (2007)
Largest Winning Margin: 5 lengths

Bet on Tampa Bay Derby

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!

Tampa Bay Derby Past Winners

Winners of the Tampa Bay Derby

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time
2018 Quip Florent Geroux Rodolphe Brisset WinStar Farm/China Horse Club 1:44.72
2017 Tapwrit Jose Ortiz Todd Pletcher Eclipse T-breds & Robert LaPenta 1:42.36
2016 Destin Javier Castellano Todd Pletcher Twin Creeks Racing Stables 1:42.82
2015 Carpe Diem John Velazquez Todd Pletcher Stonestreet Stables 1:43.60
2014 Ring Weekend Daniel Centeno H. Graham Motion St. Elias Stable/West Point Thoroughbreds 1:43.71
2013 Verrazano John Velazquez Todd Pletcher M. Tabor, Ms. Magnier, Derrick Smith 1:43.96
2012 Prospective Luis Contreras Mark Casse John Oxley 1:43.35
2011 Watch Me Go Luis Garcia Kathleen O'Connell Gilbert G. Campbell 1:44.25
2010 Odysseus Rajiv Maragh Thomas Albertrani Padua Stables 1:44.31
2009 Musket Man Daniel Centeno Derek Ryan Eric Fein/Vic Carlson 1:43.67
2008 Big Truck Eibar Coa Barclay Tagg Eric Fein 1:44.25
2007 Street Sense Calvin Borel Carl Nafzger James B. Tafel 1:43.11
2006 Deputy Glitters Jose Lezcano Tom Albertrani Joseph Lacombe Stable 1:44.26
2005 Sun King Edgar Prado Nick Zito Tracy Farmer 1:43.98
2004 Limehouse Pat Day Todd A. Pletcher Dogwood Stable 1:43.99
2003 Region of Merit Eibar Coa Christophe Clement Calumet Farm 1:44.61
2002 Equality Ramon Dominguez H. Graham Motion Pin Oak Farm 1:43.66
2001 Burning Roma Richard Migliore Heather A. Giglio Harold L. Queen 1:44.30
2000 Wheelaway Richard Migliore John C. Kimmel C. Kimmel / P. Solondz 1:43.90
1999 Pineaff Jose A. Santos Kenneth McPeek Roy & Joyce Monroe 1:45.20
1998 Parade Ground Pat Day Neil J. Howard W. S. Farish / S. Hilbert 1:45.40
1997 Zede Jerry D. Bailey William I. Mott Allen E. Paulson 1:44.80
1996 Thundering Storm Jorge Guerra Don R. Rice Deborrah Artz 1:43.80
1995 Gadzook Gary Boulanger J. Bert Sonnier Du-Zee Stables 1:45.40
1994 Prix de Crouton Mickey Walls Lorne Berg Lorne & Kathleen Berg 1:46.60
1993 Marco Bay Ron Allen, Jr. Sarah Lundy Jay Shaw 1:44.40
1992 Careful Gesture Robert N. Lester Elbert Dixon Cecilia Dixon 1:45.80
1991 Speedy Cure Ricardo Lopez Harvey Culp Susan B. Fisher 1:46.20
1990 Champagneforashley Jacinto Vasquez Howard M. Tesher Baker/Kaskel/Feinbloom 1:44.00
1989 Storm Predictions Steve Gaffalione Luis Olivares Three G Stables 1:43.80
1988 Cefis Eddie Maple Woody Stephens Ryehill Farm/ R. Kirkham 1:44.40
1987 Phantom Jet Keith K. Allen Phillip Gleaves Aisco Stables 1:43.80
1986 My Prince Charming Craig Perret Newcomb Green Aronow Stable 1:46.60
1985 Regal Remark Jeffrey Fell James E. Day Sam-Son Farm 1:46.80
1984 Bold Southerner Wayne Crews Paul Maxwell Rusticwoods Farm 1:44.60
1983 Morganmorganmorgan Willie Rodriguez Art Monteiro Morgan Bishop 1:47.20
1982 Reinvested Rick D. Luhr Stanley M. Hough Harbor View Farm 1:45.20
1981 Paristo David Ashcroft George Handy Belmont Farm 1:45.40
Proudly featured on: