Stakes Races

Florida Derby at Gulfstream Park

The Florida Derby Stakes, held annually at Gulfstream Park, is one of the preparatory races for 3-year-olds running for the Kentucky Derby. The Florida Derby, along with the Blue Grass Stakes, Wood Memorial, and Santa Anita Derby has been one of the most anticipated prep races for the Kentucky Derby throughout the race's history. A total of fifteen winners of the Flordia Derby have gone on to win the Kentucky Derby, including Orb, Big Brown, Barbaro and Northern Dancer at Churchill Downs.

The Florida Derby debuted at Gulfstream Park in 1952, as the race track expanded. The next year the derby purse was raised to $100,000 making it the first stakes event so richly endowed in the Sunshine State.

It was in 1957, in a historic race where Gen. Duke equaled the world record 1:46.80 and defeating Bold Ruler, that the Florida Derby was established as a major stepping stone to the Kentucky Derby and the Triple Crown trail.

The race continued to rise in popularity over the next years, along with it the significant increase in the race's purse. Standing at $1 million today, the Florida Derby is still one of the richest horse racing stakes.

Florida Derby Race Information 

Location: Gulfstream Park - Hallandale Beach, Florida, USA
Inauguratal Race: 1952
Race type: Thoroughbred - Flat racing
Distance: 1 1/8 miles (9 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, Left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-olds
Purse: $1 million
Grade I

Kentucky Derby Prep Race

The Florida Derby Stakes is part of the 2nd leg of the Kentucky Derby Prep Races - Championship Series, where the first four finishers will receive the following points in their race for the roses: 1st - 100points, 2nd - 40points, 3rd - 20points, 4th - 10points.

2014 Florida Derby

Cairo Prince is leading 3-year-old heading into Florida Derby. The Holy Bull Stakes winner will start in the 1 1/8-mile Florida Derby at Gulfstream Park on Saturday, March 29. This will be his last race before the Kentucky Derby on May 3rd. Cairo Prince is the likely favorite for the race.

Another Kentucky Derby Contender, California Chrome, who won the San Felipe Stakes, will race in the Santa Anita Derby on April 5 prior to the Run for the Roses. Candy Boy is another Derby contender who will most likely race in the Santa Anita Derby along side California Chrome.

Bet on Florida Derby

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!

Florida Derby Past Winners

Year | Winner | Jockey | Trainer | Time

2013 Orb John Velazquez Claude McGaughey III 01:50.9
2012 Take Charge Indy Calvin Borel Patrick B. Byrne 01:48.8
2011 Dialed In Julien R. Leparoux Nick Zito 01:50.7
2010 Ice Box Jose Lezcano Nick Zito 01:49.2
2009 Quality Road John Velazquez James A. Jerkens 01:47.7
2008 Big Brown Kent Desormeaux Richard E. Dutrow 01:48.2
2007 Scat Daddy Edgar Prado Todd A. Pletcher 01:49.0
2006 Barbaro Edgar Prado Michael Matz 01:49.0
2005 High Fly Jerry Bailey Nick Zito 01:49.4
2004 Friends Lake Richard Migliore John C. Kimmel 01:51.4
2003 Empire Maker Jerry Bailey Robert Frankel 01:49.1
2002 Harlan's Holiday Edgar Prado Kenneth McPeek 01:48.8
2001 Monarchos Jorge Chavez John T. Ward, Jr. 01:50.0
2000 Hal's Hope Roger Velez Harold Rose 01:51.5
1999 Vicar Shane Sellers Carl Nafzger 01:50.8
1998 Cape Town † Shane Sellers D. Wayne Lukas 01:49.2
1997 Captain Bodgit Alex Solis Gary Capuano 01:50.6
1996 Unbridled's Song Mike Smith James T. Ryerson 01:47.8
1995 Thunder Gulch Mike Smith D. Wayne Lukas 01:49.7
1994 Holy Bull Mike Smith Warren A. Croll, Jr. 01:47.7
1993 Bull In the Heather Wigberto Ramos Howard M. Tesher 01:51.4
1992 Technology Jerry Bailey Hubert Hine 01:50.7
1991 Fly So Free Jose Santos Scotty Schulhofer 01:50.4
1990 Unbridled Pat Day Carl Nafzger 01:52.0

Proudly featured on: