Strub Stakes

Location: Santa Anita Park, Arcadia, California
Inaugurated: 1948
Race type: Thoroughbred – Flat racing
Distance: 1 1/8 miles (9 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Four years olds
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $200,000
Grade: II

The Strub Stakes was inaugurated in 1948 as the Santa Anita Maturity but the name was changed to the Charles H. Strub Stakes in 1963 in honor of Charles H. Strub who built and owned Santa Anita Park. In 1994 the stake’s name was shortened to the “Strub Stakes.”

Charles H. Strub was an American dentist and entrepreneur. A fan of thoroughbred horse racing, he decided to enter the business when California passed a paramutuel wagering bill in the early 1930s.

Strub instituted a number of innovations for thoroughbred racing which included: finish line cameras to verify race results, electronic timing, and electronic starting gates. These improvements were later adopted by the rest of racing industry.

The Strub Stakes is the final leg of the Strub Series of three open races for newly turned 4-year-old horses held over several weeks during the first two months of each year, at Santa Anita Park. The Series consists of the Malibu Stakes, raced at 7 furlongs, the San Fernando Stakes, at 1 1/16 miles and the Strub Stakes.

Only five horses have ever won all three legs of the Strub Series: Round Table (1958), Hillsdale (1959), Ancient Title (1974), Spectacular Bid (1980) and Precisionist (1985).

Strub Stakes Past Winners

2013 Guilt Trip Joseph Talamo 01:49.0
2012 Ultimate Eagle Martin Pedroza 01:47.1
2011 Twirling Candy Joel Rosario 01:46.5
2010 Jeranimo Martin Garcia 01:47.8
2009 Cowboy Cal John Velazquez 01:48.2
2008 Monterey Jazz David Flores 01:45.7
2007 Arson Squad Garrett Gomez 01:48.6
2006 High Limit Pat Valenzuela 01:49.1
2005 Rock Hard Ten Gary Stevens 01:49.2
2004 Domestic Dispute Kent Desormeaux 01:49.1
2003 Medaglia d'Oro Jerry Bailey 01:48.0
2002 Mizzen Mast Kent Desormeaux 01:47.3
2001 Wooden Phone Corey Nakatani 01:48.4
2000 General Challenge Corey Nakatani 01:48.8
1999 Event of the Year Corey Nakatani 01:47.7
1998 Silver Charm Gary L. Stevens 01:47.3
1997 Victory Speech Jerry D. Bailey 02:01.5
1996 Helmsman Chris McCarron 02:02.8
1995 Dare And Go Alex Solis 02:00.2
1994 Diazo Laffit Pincay, Jr. 02:00.3
1993 Siberian Summer Corey Nakatani 02:00.8
1992 Best Pal Kent Desormeaux 02:00.0
1991 Defensive Play Jose Santos 02:00.8
1990 Flying Continental Corey Black 02:01.4

Proudly featured on: