Risen Star Stakes

Location: Fair Grounds Race Course New Orleans, Louisiana
Inaugurated: 1973
Race type: Thoroughbred, Flat racing
Distance: 1 1/16 miles (8.5 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-olds
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $300,000
Grade II race

Race Type: Kentucky Derby Prep Race

Road to the Roses Points: 1st=10 points; 2nd=4 points; 3rd=2 points; 4th=1 point

The Risen Star Stakes is run annually in February at the Fair Grounds Race Course. It is open to three year old horses and is raced over a distance of one and one-sixteenth miles on the dirt.The race is the major prep race to the Louisiana Derby and one of many prep race preparing colts for the Kentucky Derby and the Triple Crown. Previously known as the Louisiana Derby Trial Stakes, in 1989 it was renamed to honor locally-owned Risen Star who won the race in 1988 and went on to win the Preakness and Belmont Stakes.


Ive Struck a Nerve 135-1 upset in Risen Star

If you went simply by the odds on the tote board, there was no way for Ive Struck a Nerve could win the Risen Star Stakes at the Fair Ground. But, the 135-1 long shot took the Risen Star Stakes at Fair Grounds Race Course & Slots February 23, 2013, Matthew W. Bryan's Ive Struck a Nerve closing late in the furlong grounds and catapulting himself onto the road to the Kentucky Derby.

The 3-year-old son of Yankee Gentleman paid $272.40 to win and earned 50 qualifying points for the Derby with victory by a nose while giving trainer J. Keith Desormeaux his first graded stakes win. For his victory in the Risen Star, Ive Stuck a Nerve earns 50 points toward a spot in the starting gate in the 2013 Kentucky Derby.


Bet on Risen Star Stakes

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!


Risen Star Stakes Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time
2018 Bravazo Miguel Mena D. Wayne Lukas Calumet Farm 1:42.95
2017 Girvin Brian Hernandez, Jr. Joe Sharp Brad Grady 1:43.08
2016 Gun Runner Florent Geroux Steve Asmussen Winchell Thoroughbreds/Three Chimneys Farm 1:43.94
2015 International Star Miguel Mena Michael J. Maker Sarah & Ken Ramsey 1:43.82
2014 Intense Holiday Mike E. Smith Todd Pletcher Brereton C. Jones 1:43.86
2013 Ive Struck a Nerve James Graham J. Keith Desormeaux Big Chief Racing 1:44.52
2012 El Padrino Javier Castellano Todd A. Pletcher Let's Go Stable 1:42.96
2011 Mucho Macho Man Rajiv Maragh Katherine Ritvo Reeves Thoroughbred Racing/
Dream Team Racing Stable
2010 Discreetly Mine Javier Castellano Todd A. Pletcher E. Paul Robsham Stables, LLC 1:44.88
2009 Friesan Fire Gabriel Saez J. Larry Jones Vinery 1:45.11
2008 Pyro Shaun Bridgmohan Steve Asmussen Winchell Thoroughbreds 1:44.68
2007 Notional Robby Albarado Doug O'Neill J. Paul Reddam 1:44.18
2006 Lawyer Ron John McKee Robert E. Holthus James T. Hines, Jr. 1:43.13
2005 Scipion Gary Stevens Patrick L. Biancone Virginia Kraft Payson 1:44.54
2004 Gradepoint Robby Albarado Neil J. Howard Mt. Brilliant Stable/W. S. Farish 1:45.36
2003 Badge of Silver Robby Albarado Ronny Werner Ken & Sarah Ramsey 1:42.99
2002 Repent Tony D'Amico Kenneth McPeek Select Stable 1:43.86
2001 Dollar Bill Chris McCarron Dallas Stewart Gary & Mary West 1:43.45
2000 Exchange Rate Corey Nakatani D. Wayne Lukas Padua Stables 1:44.25
1999 Ecton Park Shane Sellers W. Elliott Walden Mark H. Stanley 1:44.83
1998 Comic Strip Shane Sellers Neil J. Howard Elkins/Farish/Humphrey 1:44.20
1997 Open Forum Donna Barton D. Wayne Lukas Bob & Beverly Lewis 1:44.20
1996 Zarbs Magic E. J. Perrodin Bret Thomas Foxwood Plantation 1:42.80
1995 Knockadoon Willie Martinez Anthony Reinstedler William K. Warren, Jr. 1:45.44
1995 Beavers Nose K. Bourque 1:45.22
1994 Fly Cry R. Ardoin Al Prats & Wayne Simpson 1:43.02
1993 Dixieland Heat Randy Romero Gerald Romero Leland Cook 1:43.20
1993 Dry Bean Aaron Gryder 1:43.80
1992 Line in the Sand Shane Romero Lane's End Farm 1:45.00
1991 Big Courage Tammy Fox 1:46.70
1990 Genuine Meaning J. Hirdes 1:40.80
1989 Nooo Problema Shane Romero 1:42.80
1989 Dispersal B. Walker 1:42.20
1988 Risen Star Shane Romero Louie Roussel III Louie Roussel III 1:40.00
Proudly featured on: