Bet Now

Things We Bet You Didn't Know About the Belmont Stakes

By US Racing Team

Belmont Stakes Field

There has never been a “walkover” or a race with a single participant in Belmont Stakes history. There have been five two-horse fields (1887, 1888, 1892, 1910, 1920). Unlike the Kentucky Derby, where it’s a challenge to limit participation to just 20, the Belmont Stakes rarely has a full field. The largest field was 15 in 1983 when Caveat defeated Slew o’ Gold, and the second-largest fields were 14 in 1875 when Calvin beat Derby winner Aristides, 1996 when Editor’s Note won and in 2013 when Palace Malice emerged victorious.

The inside post position has been the most successful having produced 24 winners overall. Posts three and five have each produced 15 winners a piece, while the number seven is represented by 13 winners. Post position 12 has produced just a single winner, while post ten has seen two winners emerge from that position in the starting gate. No horses have won from outside of post position 12.

Gelding Ruler On Ice became the second gelding to win the Belmont Stakes when he won in 2011; in 1985 Creme Fraiche became the first to do so. Geldings were allowed to compete in the race from its inaugural running in 1867 to 1918 and even received a three-pound weight allowance. After 1918 geldings were banned from running in the race until 1957. New York-bred Funny Cide won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes but failed to win the Triple Crown when he finished third behind Empire Maker in 2003.

The first ever post parade in North America took place in the fourth running of the Belmont Stakes in 1871 and is now a staple at every racetrack around the country.

Belmont Stakes Betting

Since the introduction of pari-mutuel wagering in New York in 1940, there has been no show wagering on the Belmont Stakes six times, most recently in 1978 when Triple Crown winner Affirmed met Alydar after finishing first and second in the first two legs. There was also no show wagering in 1973 when Secretariat won. Show betting was also eliminated in 1957 when Gallant Man and Bold Ruler faced off, the former romping to an eight-length win under jockey Bill Shoemaker. The 1953 Belmont won by Native Dancer was also without show wagering and the 1943 Belmont won by Count Fleet, which also crowned him a Triple Crown champion, didn’t offer place nor show wagering. And when Whirlaway completed his sweep of the Triple Crown in the 1941 Belmont there was also no show betting.

2023 Belmont Stakes Contenders, Odds and Post Positions

PP Horse Odds Jockey Trainer
1 Tapit Shoes 3-1 Brad H. Cox Jose Ortiz
2 Tapit Trice 3-1 Todd A. Pletcher Luis Saez
3 Arcangelo 8-1 Jena M. Antonucci Javier Castellano
4 National Treasure 5-1 Bob Baffert John R. Velazquez
5 Il Miracolo 30-1 Antonio Sano Marcos Meneses
6 Forte 5-2 Todd A. Pletcher Irad Ortiz, Jr.
7 Hit Show 10-1 Brad H. Cox Manuel Franco
8 Angel of Empire 7-2 Brad H. Cox Flavien Prat
9 Red Route One 15-1 Steve M. Asmussen Joel Rosario
Proudly featured on: