CashCall Futurity annual stop for Triple Crown contenders

CashCall Futurity

December 1, 2013

Location: Hollywood Park Racetrack, Inglewood, California
Inaugurated: 1981
Race type: Thoroughbred – Flat racing
Distance: 1 1/16 miles (8.5 furlongs)
Track: Cushion Track, left-handed
Qualification: Two-year-olds
Weight: All starters carry 121 pounds
Purse: $750,000

Race Type: Kentucky Derby Prep Race

Road to the Roses Points: 1st=10 points; 2nd=4 points; 3rd=2 points; 4th=1 point /road-to-the-roses

Bet on CashCall Futurity

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!


CashCall Futurity annual stop for Triple Crown contenders

The $750,000 CashCall Futurity (gr. I), an annual stop for future Triple Crown contenders, will once again be the most lucrative event on the stakes calendar for the final meet at Betfair Hollywood Park.

In all, 21 stakes worth $4 million are scheduled for the 29-day season, which begins Nov. 7 and continues through Dec. 22.

In its seventh year of sponsorship by the consumer loans company founded by owner/breeder J. Paul Reddam, who won the 2012 Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Bands and Preakness Stakes (both gr. I) with I'll Have Another , the Futurity has produced six Kentucky Derby champions and winners of 15 Triple Crown races since its inaugural running in 1981.

The 33rd CashCall Futurity–for 2-year-olds at 1 1/16 miles on Cushion Track–will be part of a stakes tripleheader Dec. 14. The $250,000 Hollywood Turf Cup (gr. IIT) at 1 1/2 miles, and the $100,000 Native Diver Stakes (gr. III) for older horses at 1 1/8 miles onCushion Track, will also be offered.

"We are very grateful for Mr. Reddam and CashCall's sponsorship through the years, and believe the Futurity will again be an important step on the road to the Triple Crown,'' said Martin Panza, Betfair Hollywood Park's vice president of racing and racing secretary. "We're looking forward to an exciting final season.''


CashCall Futurity Past Winners

2012 Violence Javier Castellano 1:43.50
2011 Liaison Rafael Bejarano 1:42.86
2010 Comma to the Top Corey Nakatani 1:44.72
2009 Lookin at Lucky Garrett Gomez 1:43.30
2008 Pioneerof the Nile Garrett Gomez 1:41.95
2007 Into Mischief Victor Espinoza 1:40.82
2006 Stormello Kent Desormeaux 1:42.19
2005 Brother Derek Alex Solis 1:42.02
2004 Declan's Moon Victor Espinoza 1:41.63
2003 Lion Heart Mike E. Smith 1:42.80
2002 Toccet Jorge Chavez 1:41.26
2001 Siphonic Jerry D. Bailey 1:42.09
2000 Point Given Gary L. Stevens 1:42.21
1999 Captain Steve Robby Albarado 1:43.27
1998 Tactical Cat Laffit Pincay, Jr. 1:42.63
1997 Real Quiet Kent Desormeaux 1:41.34
1996 Swiss Yodeler Alex Solis 1:42.70
1995 Matty G Alex Solis 1:41.75
1994 Afternoon Deelites Kent Desormeaux 1:40.74
1993 Valiant Nature Laffit Pincay, Jr. 1:40.78
1992 River Special Laffit Pincay, Jr. 1:43.27
1991 A.P. Indy Ed Delahoussaye 1:42.85
1990 Best Pal Jose A. Santos 1:35.40

Proudly featured on: