Gotham Stakes

The 61st Running is scheduled for Saturday, March 1, 2014. The Gotham Stakes is the final local prep to the Wood Memorial Stakes and an official prep race for the Kentucky Derby. A number of Derby winners have competed in this race including U.S. Triple Crown winner, Secretariat.

Of course, GOTHAM is another name for New York City and the city in which Aqueduct Racetrack is located.

The Gotham STakes was run at Jamaica race track at 1 1/16 miles prior to 1960, and in 1977 and 1979. From 1960-78, 1980-83, 1985-2002, and 2004-05, it was run at one miles. Race horse, "Easy Goer," established the stakes and track record of 1:32 2/5 in 1989.

Gotham Stakes Video

Gotham Stakes Race Information

Location: Aqueduct Racetrack - Queens, New York, United States
Inaugurated: 1953
Race type: Thoroughbred - Flat racing
Website: Aqueduct Racetrack
Distance: 11/16 miles (8.5 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-olds
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $500,000 (2014)
Grade: III

Bet on Gotham Stakes

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!

Gotham Stakes Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time
2018 Enticed Junior Alvarado Kiaran P. McLaughlin Godolphin Racing, LLC 1:38.24
2017 J Boys Echo Robby Albarado Dale L. Romans Albaugh Family Stables LLC 1:46.34
2016 Shagaf Irad Ortiz, Jr Chad C. Brown Shadwell Stable 1:45.90
2015 El Kabeir Charles C. Lopez John P. Terranova, II Zayat Stables 1:45.56
2014 Samraat Jose Ortiz Richard Violette Jr. My Meadowview Farm 1:44.44
2013 Vyjack Joel Rosario Rudy R. Rodriguez Pick Six Racing 1:44.09
2012 Hansen Ramon Dominguez Mike Maker Dr. Kendall Hansen 1:43.84
2011 Stay Thirsty Ramon Dominguez Todd Pletcher Repole Stable 1:44.78
2010 Awesome Act Julien Leparoux Jeremy Noseda Susan Roy/Vinery Stables 1:43.85
2009 I Want Revenge Joseph Talamo Jeff Mullins David J. Lanzman 1:42.65
2008 Visionaire Jose Lezcano Michael Matz Team Valor/Vision Racing 1:44.60
2007 Cowtown Cat Ramon Dominguez Todd A. Pletcher Gulf Coast Farms/WinStar 1:44.75
2006 Like Now Fernando Jara Kiaran McLaughlin John J. Dillon 1:43.17
2005 Survivalist Richard Migliore C. R. McGaughey III Phipps Stable 1:35.61
2004 Saratoga County Javier Castellano George Weaver Evelyn M. Pollard 1:35.53
2003 Alysweep Richard Migliore Patrick L. Reynolds M. Dubb / M. Doneson 1:40.60
2002 Mayakovsky Edgar Prado Patrick Biancone Michael Tabor 1:34.90
2001 Richly Blended Rick Wilson Ben Perkins, Jr. Raymond Dweck 1:35.14
2000 Red Bullet Alex Solis Joseph Orseno Stronach Stables 1:34.27
1999 Badge Shaun Bridgmohan Joseph Aquillino Southbelle Stable 1:34.72
1998 Wasatch Jerry D. Bailey Martin D. Wolfson Frank Calabrese 1:36.56
1997 Smokin Mel John Velazquez John DeStefano, Jr. S. Port / E. Watchel 1:34.38
1996 Romano Gucci Julie Krone Richard E. Dutrow Herbert Kushner 1:34.40
1995 Talkin Man Mike E. Smith Roger Attfield Stollery & Kinghaven 1:36.82
1994 Irgun Jerry D. Bailey Steven W. Young B. & M. Chase 1:36.27
1993 As Indicated Caesar Bisono Richard Schosberg Heatherwood Farm 1:36.24
1992 Lure Mike E. Smith C. R. McGaughey III Claiborne Farm 1:35.63
1992 Devil His Due Herb McCauley H. Allen Jerkens Lion Crest Stable 1:35.63
1991 Kyle's Our Man Angel Cordero, Jr. John M. Veitch Darby Dan Farm 1:34.69
1990 Thirty Six Red Mike E. Smith Nick Zito B. Giles Brophy 1:33.80
1989 Easy Goer Pat Day C. R. McGaughey III Ogden Phipps 1:32.40
1988 Private Terms Chris Antley Charles Hadry Locust Hill Farm 1:34.80
1987 Gone West Robbie Davis Woody Stephens Hickory Tree Stable 1:34.60
1986 Mogambo Jacinto Vasquez Leroy Jolley Peter M. Brant 1:34.60
1985 Eternal Prince Richard Migliore John J. Lenzini, Jr. Brian J. Hurst, Jr. 1:35.80
1984 Bear Hunt Don MacBeth Roger Laurin Taylor Purchase Farm 1:40.40
1983 Assault Landing Vince Bracciale, Jr. Charles Hadry Locust Hill Farm 1:35.80
1983 Chas Conerly Jeffrey Fell Mervin Marks Daniel Lavezzo, Jr. 1:36.60
1982 Air Forbes Won Michael Venezia Frank LaBoccetta Edward Anchel 1:35.60
1981 Proud Appeal Jeffrey Fell Stanley M. Hough Malcolm H. Winfield 1:33.60
1980 Colonel Moran Jorge Velasquez Thomas J. Kelly Townsend B. Martin 1:37.00
1979 General Assembly Jacinto Vasquez Leroy Jolley Bertram R. Firestone 1:43.60
1978 Slap Jack Jorge Velasquez Lou M. Goldfine Jerry Frankel 1:38.60
1977 Cormorant Danny Wright James P. Simpson Charles Berry, Jr. 1:43.60
1976 Zen Jacinto Vasquez David A. Whiteley Pen-Y-Bryn Farm 1:35.60
1975 Laramie Trail Mike Venezia Jose A. Martin Joseph M. Roebling 1:38.00
1975 Singh Angel Cordero, Jr. John W. Russell Cynthia Phipps 1:37.00
1974 Stonewalk Miguel A. Rivera Daniel Lopez Timberland Stable 1:36.00
1974 Rube The Great Miguel A. Rivera Frank Martin Sigmund Sommer 1:35.20
1973 Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable 1:33.40
1972 Freetex Chuck Baltazar William T. Raymond Middletown Stable 1:36.40
1971 Good Behaving Ron Turcotte John P. Campo Neil Hellman 1:36.00
1970 Native Royalty Angel Cordero, Jr. John T. Davis Happy Valley Farm 1:36.20
1969 Dike Jorge Velasquez Lucien Laurin Claiborne Farm 1:34.80
1968 Verbatim John L. Rotz James P. Conway Elmendorf Farm 1:34.00
1967 Dr. Fager Manuel Ycaza John A. Nerud artan Stable 1:35.20
1966 Stupendous Pete Anderson Edward A. Neloy Wheatley Stable 1:34.60
1965 Flag Raiser Bobby Ussery Hirsch Jacobs Isidor Bieber 1:36.60
1964 Mr. Moonlight Jimmy Combest Nick Combest Mrs. Magruder Dent 1:37.20
1963 Debbysman Larry Adams Robert Dotter Gustave Ring 1:34.60
1962 Jaipur Bill Shoemaker Bert Mulholland George D. Widener, Jr. 1:37.00
1961 Ambiopoise Bobby Ussery Thomas M. Waller Robert Lehman 1:35.80
1960 John William Sam Boulmetis G. Auerbach Merrick Stable 1:36.40
1959 Atoll Eddie Arcaro Ray Metcalf Elkcam Stable 1:43.00
1958 Oh Johnny William Boland Norman R. McLeod Mrs. Wallace Gilroy 1:43.60
1957 Mister Jive Hedley Woodhouse George M. Carter J. L. Appelbaum 1:45.60
1956 Career Boy Eric Guerin Sylvester Veitch C. V. Whitney 1:45.60
1955 Go Lightly Joe Culmone James McGee Roslyn Farm 1:46.60
1954 Fisherman Hedley Woodhouse Sylvester Veitch C. V. Whitney 1:46.20
1953 Native Dancer Eric Guerin William C. Winfrey Alfred G. Vanderbilt II 1:44.20
1953 Laffango Nick Shuk Merritt A. Buxton Trio Stable 1:44.00
Proudly featured on: