Forward Gal Stakes

Location: Gulfstream Park, Hallandale, Florida, United States
Inaugurated: 1981
Race type: Thoroughbred - Flat racing
Distance: 7 furlongs
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-old fillies
Weight : Assigned
Purse: $200,000
Grade: II

A prep race to the Triple Tiara of Thoroughbred Racing, including the Kentucky Oaks, the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes and Mother Goose Stakes.

The Forward Gal Stakes is named for "Forward Gal," the American Champion Two-Year-Old Filly of 1970.

Forward Gal (foaled 1968 in Florida) was an American Thoroughbred Champion racehorse. Out of the mare, Forward Thrust, he was sired by Florida Derby winner Native Charger who also sired 1970 Belmont Stakes winner High Echelon. In 1970 Forward Gal's performances earned her American Champion Two-Year-Old Filly honors and although she did not repeat as champion at age three, she was one of the top fillies in her age group and under jockey Michael Hole won several important races including the 1971 Gazelle Handicap and Comely Stakes.


Bet on Forward Gal Stakes


US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!


Forward Gal Stakes Past Winners


2013 Kauai Katie John Velazquez 01:22.1
2012 Broadway's Alibi John Velazquez 01:21.9
2011 Pomeroys Pistol Paco Lopez 01:22.9
2010 Bickersons Joe Bravo 01:22.3
2009 Frolic's Dream Jermaine Bridgmohan 01:24.1
2008 Bsharpsonata Eric Camacho 01:23.1
2007 Forever Together Elvis Trujillo 01:22.6
2006 Miraculous Miss Jeremy Rose 01:22.8
2005 Letgomyecho Javier Castellano 01:23.2
2004 Madcap Escapade Jerry D. Bailey 01:23.0
2003 Midnight Cry Edgar Prado 01:22.6
2002 Take the Cake Rene Douglas 01:25.5
2001 Gold Mover Jerry D. Bailey 01:22.4
2000 Miss Inquistive Tommy Turner 01:22.3
1999 China Storm Pat Day 01:23.7
1998 Uanme Shane Sellers 01:24.6
1997 Glitter Woman Mike E. Smith 01:21.8
1996 Mindy Gayle Julie Krone 01:24.5
1995 Chaposa Springs Heberto Castillo, Jr. 01:24.2
1994 Mynameispanama Marco Castaneda 01:23.0
1993 Sum Runner Randy Romero 01:23.7
1992 Spinning Round Jose A. Santos 01:24.8
1991 Withallprobability Craig Perret 01:22.5

Proudly featured on: