Leading Preakness Owners, Trainers, and Jockeys

By US Racing Team

Hall of Fame trainer Bob Baffert is the Preakness Stakes’ most successful active trainer with seven wins, including Triple Crown winners American Pharoah (2015) and Justify (2018). His other Preakness winners were Silver Charm (1997), Real Quiet (1998), Point Given (2001), War Emblem (2002) and Lookin at Lucky (2010). This year Baffert will be represented by two runners in Kentucky Derby winner Medina Spirit and Concert Tour, who was pulled from Derby consideration after he was third as the beaten favorite in the Arkansas Derby.

Robert Wyndham Walden saddled seven Preakness winners in the later years of the 19th century, including five straight from 1878 to 1882. All five were owned by prominent Thoroughbred owner George Lorillard, who was also known as a yachtsman and outdoorsman.

Lucille Markey Wright’s Calumet Farm remains the leading Preakness owner and breeder with eight wins. The farm and racing stable was founded by Warren Wright, Markey’s first husband, and successfully carried on by her and her second husband husband, Admiral Gene Markey. Calumet owned and bred Whirlaway (1941), Pensive (1944), Faultless (1947), Citation (1948), Fabius (1956), Tim Tam (1958) and Forward Pass (1968).

Brad Kelley, who purchased Calumet Farm in 2012, gave the new Calumet a Preakness win when Oxbow earned the garland of Black Eyed Susans at Old Hilltop.

Gary Stevens and Mike Smith lead all riders with 18 Preakness mounts, while Pat Day has 17. Eddie Arcaro and Jerry Bailey are next with 15 mounts. Edgar Prado (14), Kent Desormeaux (14), Angel Cordero Jr. (13), Chris McCarron (13) and Bill Shoemaker (12) round out the top 10. Arcaro still leads all riders with six wins, followed by Day’s five and George Barbee, Bill Hartack and Lloyd Hughes at three each.

2023 Preakness Stakes Post Positions and Odds

PP Horse Odds Jockey Trainer
1 National Treasure 4-1 John Velazquez Steven M. Asmussen
2 Chase The Chaos 50-1 Sheldon Russell Ed Moger Jr.
3 Mage 8-5 Javier Castellano Gustavo Delgado
4 Coffeewithchris 20-1 Jaime Rodriguez John E. Salzman Jr.
5 Red Route One 10-1 Joel Rosario Steven M. Asmussen
6 Perform 15-1 Feargal Lynch Claude R. McGaughey III
7 Blazing Sevens 6-1 Irad Ortiz Jr. Chad C. Brown
8 First Mission 5-2 Luis Saez Brad H. Cox


Posted on