More Chocolate wins in dirt debut at La Canada Stakes

La Canada Stakes

December 29, 2013

More Chocolate, making her first start on dirt for trainer John Sadler, put away pacesetter Willa B Awesome in the stretch and shook clear for her first stakes victory in the $150,000 La Canada Stakes Jan. 20 at Santa Anita Park.

With Garrett Gomez aboard, Michael Talla's More Chocolate held sway in deep stretch over the oncoming Book Review to register a 1 3/4-length win in her dirt bow after seven starts on grass to begin her career. The final time for the 1 1/16-mile event for 4-year-old fillies was 1:42.59 over a fast track.

"We wanted to try her on the dirt," said Sadler. "It's the last chance to run her with her own age group. We thought we might be back a little further, but with a 48 [second] half [mile], I felt good with where we were sitting. We're going to look at the Santa Margarita [$300,000 at 1 1/8 miles for older fillies and mares March 16], that's for sure."

Bred in Kentucky by Calumet Farm, More Chocolate is a daughter of Malibu Moon out of the French-bred Night Shift mare Little Treasure, winner of the 2002 San Clemente Handicap at Del Mar and a lifetime earner of $305,262, all on grass. More Chocolate is the first stakes winner from four foals to race produced by her dam.

More Chocolate sold for $310,000 to Martin Anthony from consigner Cary Frommer at the 2011 Fasig-Tipton Florida February Select Two-Year-Olds in Training Sale. The bay filly was sold as a Keeneland September yearling for $45,000 in 2010 by Calumet, as agent, to PHB Racing.

Sent off at odds of 5-1 in the La Canada, More Chocolate was coming off a third-place finish against older females in the Robert J. Frankel Stakes, her stakes debut Dec. 30 on the Santa Anita turf course. An allowance winner on turf at nine furlongs Nov. 1, she had been training solidly over the Santa Anita main track. She most recently recorded a bullet six-furlong move in 1:12 2/5 Jan. 14.

A late betting move made Lady of Fifty the narrow 6-5 favorite over Book Review, bet to 7-5, in the six-horse field.

With little speed signed on, Willa B Awesome and Martin Pedroza, from between horses, made the early running into the clubhouse turn as More Chocolate and outsider Ubelongtomemissy took up position about a length off the pacesetter. Willa B Awesome brought them along at an even clip through quarter mile fractions of :24.34, :48.03, and 1:12.00. More Chocolate, turning up the pressure on the outside, put her head in front midway on the far turn.

More Chocolate took a narrow edge into the lane and inched away to a 1 1/2-length lead over her pace rival mid-stretch. She finished encouragingly under steady left-handed urging from Gomez as Book Review and Rafael Bejarano, after swinging wide for the drive, tried in vain to make a race of it.

"She was relaxed going into the first turn then she jumped up in the bridle on me," said Gomez. "I didn't want to get into a wrestling match with her so I let her be. She settled into a good rhythm going down the backside. I haven't had a horse turn for home like she did for me in a long time."

Book Review was a clear second by 2 1/4 lengths over Willa B Awesome. Lady of Fifty, the 123-pound highweight, was a disappointing fourth after floating wide leaving the far turn and failing to muster much of a charge. Ubelongtomemissy and Open Water trailed.

The $90,000 purse nearly doubled More Chocolate's earnings to $182,790 with her third win from eight lifetime starts.


La Canada StakesRace Information

Location: Santa Anita Park, Arcadia, California
Inaugurated: 1975
Race type: Thoroughbred – Flat racing
Distance: 1 1/16 miles (8.5 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Four years old fillies & mares
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $200,000
Grade: II

La Canada Stakes is part of Santa Anita Park's La Canada Series of races open to newly turning/turned 4-year old fillies and run at an increasing distance. The series begins with the La Brea Stakes at 7 furlongs in December of the previous year. It is followed by the G-II El Encino Stakes at 1 1/16 miles in mid January, then the La Canada Stakes during the second week of February.

Since the creation of the series in 1975, only three fillies have ever won all three races: Taisez Vous (1978), Mitterand (1985), and Got Koko (2003). The Santa Anita Park counterpart series for male horses is the Strub Stakes Series.


Bet on La Canada Stakes


US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!

La Canada Stakes Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2018 Mopotism Mario Gutierrez Doug F. O'Neill 1:37.29
2017 Vale Dori (ARG) Mike E Smith Bob Baffert 1:44.95
2016 Taris Gary Stevens Simon Callaghan 1:44.38
2015 Thegirlinthatsong Rafael Bejarano Jerry Hollendorfer 1:43.84
2014 Spellbound Victor Espinoza Richard Mandella 1:43.14
2013 More Chocolate Garrett Gomez John W. Sadler 1:42.59
2012 Include Me Out Joseph Talamo Ronald Ellis 1:41.89
2011 Always a Princess Martin Garcia Bob Baffert 1:48.36
2010 Striking Dancer Alex Solis Ken McPeek 1:48.48
2009 Life Is Sweet Garrett Gomez John Shirreffs 1:49.70
2008 Dawn After Dawn Garrett Gomez John W. Sadler 1:50.37
2007 Balance Victor Espinoza David Hofmans 1:49.41
2006 Seafree Patrick Valenzuela Robert J. Frankel 1:50.04
2005 Tarlow Patrick Valenzuela John Shirreffs 1:48.64
2004 Cat Fighter Alex Solis Bob Baffert 1:50.41
2003 Got Koko Alex Solis Bruce Headley 1:48.41
2002 Summer Colony Gary Stevens Mark A. Hennig 1:49.26
2001 Spain Victor Espinoza D. Wayne Lukas 1:49.74
2000 Scholars Studio Corey Nakatani Martin F. Jones 1:49.14
1999 Manistique Gary Stevens John Shirreffs 1:48.81
1998 Fleet Lady Garrett Gomez Jerry Hollendorfer 1:48.59
1997 Belle's Flag Corey Nakatani Darrell Vienna 1:48.28
1996 Jewel Princess Alex Solis Wallace Dollase 1:49.42
1995 Dianes Halo Corey Nakatani David Cross, Jr. 1:49.35
1994 Stalcreek Gary Stevens David Bernstein 1:48.85
1993 Alysbelle Ed Delahoussaye Jack Van Berg 1:49.85
1992 Exchange Laffit Pincay, Jr. Bill Spawr 1:49.96
1991 Fit To Scout Julio A. Garcia Jack Van Berg 1:48.40
1990 Gorgeous Ed Delahoussaye Neil D. Drysdale 1:50.00
1989 Goodbye Halo Pat Day Charles E. Whittingham 1:54.40
1988 Hollywood Glitter Laffit Pincay, Jr. Gary F. Jones 1:49.20
1987 Family Style Gary Stevens D. Wayne Lukas 1:49.60
1986 Lady's Secret Chris McCarron D. Wayne Lukas 1:49.80
1985 Mitterand Ed Delahoussaye Randy Winick 1:48.80
1984 Sweet Diane Ray Sibille Robert J. Frankel 1:49.20
1983 Avigaition Ed Delahoussaye Vivian Pulliam 1:49.80
1982 Safe Play Don Brumfield Harvey L. Vanier 1:47.60
1981 Summer Siren Marco Castaneda Lou Carno 1:48.60
1980 Glorious Song Chris McCarron Gerry Belanger 1:47.60
1979 B. Thoughtful Donald Pierce Robert L. Wheeler 1:48.80
1978 Taisez Vous Donald Pierce Robert L. Wheeler 1:49.80
1977 Lucie Manet Bill Shoemaker Jaime Villagomez 1:48.20
1976 Raise Your Skirts Bill Shoemaker Barney Willis 1:48.40
1975 Chris Evert Jorge Velasquez Joseph A. Trovato 1:41.60
Proudly featured on: