Street Secret tunes up for Turnback the Alarm

Turnback The Alarm Handicap

September 17, 2013

When Street Secret came to Chad Brown’s barn, it looked like she would be another one to add to his deep roster of potential turf stakes fillies and mares.

But Street Secret has proven to be perhaps a shade better on dirt, and with an eye toward next month’s Turnback the Alarm, Brown will prep Street Secret in Thursday’s $100,000 Parlo Stakes at Belmont Park.

After a win and a third in two turf starts by Street Secret, Brown tried her on dirt in the Open Mind Stakes at Belmont in June. Street Secret seized the initiative from expected pacesetter Mischief Maker and scored a 1 3/4-length front-running victory. In her most recent start, the Alada Stakes going 1 1/8 miles in the slop at Saratoga, Street Secret finished second to Flashy American, who came back to win the Locust Grove at Churchill Downs in her next start. Lady Cohiba, who finished third in the Alada, won the off-the-turf Glens Falls Handicap in her next start, a race from which Street Secret scratched.


Bet on Turn Back the Alarm Handicap

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!


Stakes Race Details

Location: Aqueduct Racetrack
Distance: 1 1/2 miles (9 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Fillies & Mares, three-years-old & up
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $100,000+


Past Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
2018 Teresa Z 4 Trevor McCarthy Anthony R. Margotta, Jr 1:51.68
2017 Eskenformoney 5 John Velazquez Todd A. Pletcher 1:43.12
2016 Lewis Bay 3 Irad Ortiz, Jr. Chad Brown 1:42.09
2015 America 4 Christopher P. DeCarlo William I. Mott 1:41.96
2014 Dame Dorothy 3 Javier Castellano Todd Pletcher 1:43.50
2013 Stanwyck 4 Alex Solis John Shirreffs 1:42.62
2012 Afleeting Lady 5 Joel Rosario Dale L. Romans 1:42.17
2011 Arena Elvira 4 Junior Alvarado Bill Mott 1:51.59
2010 Our Khrysty 4 Ramon Dominguez Todd Beattie 1:43.21
2009 Unbridled Belle 6 Ramon Dominguez Todd A. Pletcher 1:50.20
2008 Altesse 5 John Velazquez Claude R. McGaughey III 1:50.02
2007 Sugar Shake 4 Javier Castellano Robert J. Frankel 1:50.02
2006 Miss Shop 3 Raul Rojas H. Allen Jerkens 1:50.93
2005 Indian Vale 3 John Velazquez Todd A. Pletcher 1:49.83
2004 Personal Legend 4 Jerry D. Bailey Robert J. Frankel 1:51.27
2003 Pocus Hocus 5 Jose A. Santos James A. Jerkens 1:50.67
2002 Svea Dahl 5 Richard Migliore Bruce N. Levine 1:50.42
2001 Rochelle's Terms 4 Robbie Davis Howard M. Tesher 1:51.19
2000 Atelier 3 Edgar Prado Claude R. McGaughey III 1:48.95
1999 Belle Cherie 3 John Velazquez Philip G. Johnson 1:50.03
1998 Snit 4 John Velazquez Barclay Tagg 1:51.30
1997 Mil Kilates 4 Joe Bravo Alfredo Callejas 1:49.40
1996 Shoop 5 Jerry D. Bailey Gasper Moschera 1:51.35
1995 Incinerate 5 Filiberto Leon H. Allen Jerkens 1:48.89
Proudly featured on: