Spiral Stakes

The Horseshoe Casino Cincinnati Spiral Stakes is for three year old Colts and Geldings (123 lbs.); Fillies (118 lbs.) The $550,000 purse will be split as follows: 1% to all owners of horses finishing 7th through last, 60% of the remaining purse shall be paid to the owner of the winner plus 50 Road To The Kentucky Derby Points, 20% to second plus 20 Road To The Kentucky Derby Points; 10% to third plus 10 Road To The Kentucky Derby Points; 5% to fourth plus 5 Road To The Kentucky Derby Points; 3% to fifth and 2% to sixth.

Kentucky Derby Prep Race

The Spiral Stakes is part of the Kentucky Derby Prep Races - Championship Series, where the first four finishers will receive the following points in their race for the roses: 1st - 50points, 2nd - 20points, 3rd - 10points, 4th - 5points.

2014 Spiral Stakes

The Spiral Stakes will be held on Saturday, March 22, 2014 at Turfway Park. Nominations closed with a total of 137 horses but the starting line up is limited to 12. Final entries for the Spiral Stakes will be drawn Wednesday, March 19, at Horseshoe Casino Cincinnati which is an invitation only event.

Spiral Stakes Race Information

Location: Turfway Park, Florence, Kentucky, United States
Inauguratal Race: 1972
Race type: Thoroughbred - Flat racing
Distance: 1 1/8 miles (9 furlongs)
Track: PolyTrack, left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-olds
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $550,000
Grade III race

Bet on Spiral Stakes

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!

Spiral Stakes Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time
2019 Somelikeithotbrown Tyler Gaffalione Michael J. Maker Skychai Racing LLC 1:52.05
2018 Blended Citizen Kyle Frey Douglas F. O'Neill G. Hall & Sanjay Racing 1:50.15
2017 Fast and Accurate Tyler Gaffalione Michael J. Maker Kendall E. Hansen 1:50:96
2016 Oscar Nominated Brian J. Hernandez, Jr. Michael J. Maker Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey 1:51.12
2015 Dubai Sky Jose Lezcano William I. Mott Three Chimneys Farm and Besilu Stables 1:50.26
2014 We Miss Artie John R. Velazquez Todd Pletcher Ken and Sarah Ramsey 1:51.98
2013 Black Onyx Joe Bravo Kelly Breen Sterling Racing 1:51.98
2012 Went the Day Well John Velazquez H. Graham Motion Team Valor/Ford 1:51.33
2011 Animal Kingdom Alan Garcia H. Graham Motion Team Valor 1:52.32
2010 Dean's Kitten Cornelio Velasquez Michael J. Maker Ken and Sarah Ramsey 1:50.59
2009 Hold Me Back Kent Desormeaux William I. Mott WinStar Farm 1:49.63
2008 Adriano Edgar Prado H. Graham Motion Courtlandt Farms 1:50.20
2007 Hard Spun Mario G. Pino J. Larry Jones Fox Hill Farms Inc. 1:49.41
2006 With A City Brice Blanc Michael J. Maker Equirace.com 1:51.11
2005 Flower Alley Jorge Chavez Todd A. Pletcher Melnyk Racing Stables 1:50.33
2004 Sinister G Paul Toscano John Toscano, Jr. John T. Toscano III et al. 1:50.71
2003 New York Hero Norberto Arroyo, Jr. Jennifer Pedersen Paraneck Stable 1:50.68
2002 Perfect Drift Ed Delahoussaye Murray W. Johnson Stonecrest Farm 1:48.83
2001 Balto Star Mark Guidry Todd A. Pletcher Anstu Stable 1:47.23
2000 Globalize Francisco Torres Jerry Hollendorfer Howard Litt et al. 1:49.16
1999 Stephen Got Even Shane Sellers Nick Zito Stephen Hilbert 1:49.03
1998 Event of the Year Russell Baze Jerry Hollendorfer Golden Eagle Farm 1:47.00
1997 Concerto Carlos Marquez, Jr. John J. Tammaro III Kinsman Stable 1:48.20
1996 Roar Mike E. Smith C. R. McGaughey III Dilschneider 1:49.60
1995 Serena's Song Corey Nakatani D. Wayne Lukas Bob & Beverly Lewis 1:49.60
1994 Polar Expedition Curt Bourque Hugh H. Robertson James Cody 1:49.00
1993 Prairie Bayou Chris McCarron Thomas Bohannan Loblolly Stable 1:50.80
1992 Lil E. Tee Pat Day Lynn S. Whiting W. Cal Partee 1:53.40
1991 Hansel Jerry D. Bailey Frank L. Brothers Lazy Lane Farm 1:46.60
1990 Summer Squall Pat Day Neil J. Howard Dogwood Stable 1:49.40
1989 Western Playboy Pat Day Harvey L. Vanier Nancy Vanier 1:49.00
1988 Kingpost Eugene Sipus, Jr. Dianne Carpenter Mark Warner 1:50.80
1987 J. T.'s Pet Pat Day Lynn S. Whiting W. Cal Partee 1:42.80
1986 Broad Brush Vince Bracciale, Jr. Richard W. Small Robert E. Meyerhoff 1:44.20
1985 Banner Bob Keith Allen Jerome Sarner, Jr. Sharon & W. J. Walsh 1:42.00
1984 At The Threshold Pat Day Lynn S. Whiting W. Cal Partee 1:42.80
1983 Marfa Jorge Velasquez D. Wayne Lukas Beal/French, Jr./Lukas 1:42.40
1982 Good N' Dusty Michael Moran Jasper Adams Larry R. Lehman 1:44.60
1981 Mythical Ruler Kevin Wirth Fred Wirth Price & Risen 1:38.00
1980 Spruce Needles Mark Sellers William E. Adams Golden Chance Farm 1:36.20
1980 Major Run Mark Sellers William E. Adams Golden Chance Farm 1:37.60
1979 Lot O' Gold Don Brumfield William E. Adams Frederick E. Lehmann 1:37.60
1978 Raymond Earl Julio Espinoza William E. Adams Robert N. Lehmann 1:38.80
1978 Five Star General Julio Espinoza William E. Adams Golden Chance Farm 1:37.80
1977 Bob's Dusty Julio Espinoza William E. Adams Robert N. Lehmann 1:38.80
1977 Smiley's Dream W. Destefona William E. Adams Golden Chance Farm 1:39.40
1976 Inca Roca William Nemeti A. T. Skinner C. Jarrell 1:37.40
1975 Ambassador's Image E. Snell D. Ball Donamire Farm 1:38.40
1975 Naughty Jake German Vasquez Jake Bachelor Mildred Bachelor 1:40.00
1974 King of Rome Keith Wirth Fred Wirth Fred Wirth 1:45.40
1974 Aglorite Keith Wirth Fred Wirth A. Risen Jr. 1:44.60
1973 Jacks Chevron Mickey Solomone C. C. Patrick C. C. Patrick 1:41.00
1973 Bootlegger's Pet Kerry Wirth Carl Sitgraves W. Hines/C. Sitgraves 1:42.00
1972 Big Dot Jim Murchison James Eckrosh E. Lowrence 1:38.80
Proudly featured on: