Rachel Alexandra Stakes


Location: Fair Grounds Race Course, New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Inaugurated: 1982
Race type: Thoroughbred – Flat racing
Distance: 1 1/16 (8.5 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-old fillies
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $200,000

The Rachel Alexandra Stakes is an important prep race for developing three-year-old fillies. The race is a Grade II event with a purse of $200,000 and is a prep race to the Triple Tiara of Thoroughbred Racing, including the Kentucky Oaks, the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes and Mother Goose Stakes.

Named after racehorse, Rachel Alexandra, who is a retired American Thoroughbred and the 2009 Horse of the Year winner. When Rachel Alexandra won the 2009 Preakness Stakes, the second leg of the Triple Crown, she became the first filly to win the race in 85 years.


Bet on Rachel Alexandra Stakes


US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!

Rachel Alexandra Stakes Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2018 Monomoy Girl Flont Geroux Brad H. Cox 1:43.26
2017 Farrell Channing Hill Wayne Catalano 1:44.09
2016 Venus Valentine Corey J. Lanerie Thomas M. Amoss 1:45.24
2015 I'm a Chatterbox Florent Geroux J. Larry Jones 1:44.10
2014 Untapable Rosie Napravnik Steven Asmussen 1:43.64
2013 Unlimited Budget Rosie Napravnik Todd Pletcher 1:45.38
2012 Summer Applause Robby Albarado Bret Calhoun 1:43.30
2011 Kathmanblu Julien Leparoux Kenneth McPeek 1:45.13
2010 Jody Slew Miguel Mena Bret Calhoun 1:45.80
2009 War Echo Shaun Bridgmohan Steve Asmussen 1:45.20
2008 Indian Blessing Garrett Gomez Bob Baffert 1:43.75
2007 Appealing Zophie John R. Velazquez Steve Asmussen 1:44.13
2006 Baghdaria Cliff Berry Bret Calhoun 1:46.07
2005 Summerly Donnie Meche Steve Asmussen 1:43.79
2004 Shadow Cast Robby Albarado Neil J. Howard 1:46.82
2003 Belle of Perintown Calvin Borel Eddie Kenneally 1:44.48
2002 Take Charge Lady Jon Court Kenneth McPeek 1:42.09
2001 Lakenheath Corey Lanerie Gene Cilio 1:46.09
2000 Shawnee Country Donnie Meche D. Wayne Lukas 1:45.11
1999 Silverbulletday Gary Stevens Bob Baffert 1:44.36
1998 Cool Dixie Ronald Ardoin Louie J. Roussel III 1:43.38
1997 Blushing K. D. Lonnie Meche Sam David Jr. 1:42.48
1996 Up Dip Curt Bourque Albert Stall Jr. 1:44.61
1995 Legendary Priness Christopher Emigh Louie Roussel III 1:44.42
1994 Playcaller Ronald Ardoin Thomas M. Amoss 1:44.31
1993 Bright Penny Ronald Ardoin William Badgett Jr. 1:44.80
1992 Prospectors Delite Bobby J. Walker Jr. Neil J. Howard 1:43.80
1991 Nalees Pin Kenneth Bourque Larry Robideaux Jr. 1:46.50
1990 Windansea Randy Romero Steven L. Morguelan 1:46.40
1989 Exquisite Mistress Calvin Borel Joseph E. Broussard 1:46.80
1988 False Glitter Shane Romero Louie Roussel III 1:47.40
1987 Out of the Bid Kurt Bourque Grover Delp 1:47.20
Proudly featured on: