Called to Serve turns tables in Discovery Handicap at Aqueduct

Discovery Handicap

Archives: November 17, 2012

Called to Serve, who had been knocking on the door by finishing in the money in three consecutive starts, kicked it down with a triumph in Saturday’s Grade 3, $150,000 Discovery Handicap, New York’s final graded stakes of the season for 3-year-old males at Aqueduct.

Called to Serve, ridden for the first time by Joel Rosario, draws clear in the Discovery.

Beaten a head by odds-on choice Willy Beamin in the Oklahoma Derby for former trainer Peter Eurton, Called to Serve gained revenge with a comprehensive victory from off the pace in his second start for Nick Canani, and the gelding by Afleet Alex did it on the square.

Willy Beamin was able to set up shop on an easy lead through moderate fractions of 24.63 seconds, 49.36 and 1:13.29, and appeared to be holding all the cards. But Called to Serve began picking off horses on the outside turning for home with new pilot Joel Rosario, caught the favorite just outside the eighth pole, and drew off with every stride to win by 4 3/4 lengths.

“It was easy for me,” said Rosario. “I just had to put him in the right spot. He was all game today. Every time I asked him, he was there. I like to ride that kind of horse.”

Called to Serve paid $9.60 as the second choice in the six-horse field, and ran the 1 1/8 miles in 1:49.77 over a fast main track. The Discovery was his first stakes win, and upped his record to 3-1-3 from 10 starts.

“He came to New York and ran in the Temperence Hill as a prep for this,” said Canani. “I was a bit concerned when I saw the slow fractions, but I can only control my own horse. The last three weeks he’s made great strides, put on weight, filled out, and he was doing super. Around the turn he was in the clear and didn’t have any traffic trouble.”


Discovery Handicap Video

Nov 17, 2012 -- Called to Serve stormed from last to first to earn his first graded stakes victory in Saturday's 68th running of the Grade 3, $150,000 Discovery Handicap at Aqueduct Racetrack. Ridden by Joel Rosario, the 3-year-old gelded son of Afleet Alex sat patiently behind tepid fractions of 24.63, 49.36 and 1:13.29 set by 3-4 favorite Willy Beamin, then launched a four-wide rally through the stretch to take command before the eighth pole. His winning time for the 1 1/8 miles over a fast track was 1:49.77.



Bet on Discovery Handicap

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!


Stakes Race Details

Location: Aqueduct Racetrack
Distance:1 1/2 miles (9 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-olds
Weight: Gr. III
Purse: $100,000


Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2018 Plainsman Joel Rosario Brad H. Cox 1:52.14
2017 Control Group Joel Rosario Rudy R. Rodriguez 1:52.83
2016 Sticksstatelydude Joel Rosario Kiaran P. McLaughlin 1:50.58
2015 Tommy Macho Javier Castellano Todd A. Pletcher 1:51.67
2014 Protonico Joe Bravo Todd Pletcher 1:51.92
2013 Romansh Jose Ortiz Thomas Albertrani 1:48.28
2012 Called to Serve Joel Rosario Nick Canani 1:49.77
2011 Redeemed Edgar Prado Rick Dutrow Jr. 1:49.22
2010 Stormy's Majesty Edgar Prado Domenic Galluscio 1:50.02
2009 Haynesfield Ramon Dominguez Steve Asmussen 1:50.10
2008 Wishful Tomcat Ramon Dominguez Gary C. Contessa 1:53.28
2007 Now a Victor John Velazquez Michael Trombetta 1:50.15
2006 Roman Dynasty John Velazquez Todd A. Pletcher 1:51.11
2005 Magna Graduate John Velazquez Todd A. Pletcher 1:41.35
2004 Zakocity Javier Castellano Patrick L. Reynolds 1:49.78
2003 During Jose A. Santos Bob Baffert 1:51.18
2002 Saint Marden Jerry D. Bailey Michael R. Matz 1:49.13
2001 Evening Attire Shaun Bridgmohan Patrick J. Kelly 1:48.62
2000 Left Bank John Velazquez Todd A. Pletcher 1:47.30
1999 Adonis John Velazquez Nick Zito 1:50.11
1998 Early Warning Jorge F. Chavez Todd A. Pletcher 1:48.94
1997 Mr. Sinatra Mike E. Smith Gasper Moschera 1:49.55
1996 Gold Fever Mike E. Smith Claude R. McGaughey III 1:49.01
1995 Michael's Star Julie Krone Guadalupe Preciado 1:50.34
1994 Serious Spender Jorge F. Chavez Dominick A. Schettino 1:51.24
1993 Prospector's Flag Jorge F. Chavez Nick Zito 1:52.30
1992 New Deal Robbie Davis William Badgett, Jr 1:48.08
1991 Upon My Soul Jean-Luc Samyn Richard Violette, Jr. 1:49.60
1990 Sports View Jose A. Santos D. Wayne Lukas 1:48.60
1989 Tricky Creek Craig Perret George R. Arnold III 1:50.00
1988 Dynaformer Angel Cordero, Jr. D. Wayne Lukas 1:50.00
1987 Parochial Julie Krone Robert Klesaris 1:51.20
1986 Moment of Hope Mike Venezia Bob Dunham 1:49.60
1985 Proud Truth Jorge Velasquez John M. Veitch 1:49.20
1984 Key to the Moon Dan Beckon Gil Rowntree 1:50.00
1983 Country Pine Jerry D. Bailey Thomas L. Rondinello 1:49.60
1982 Trenchant Jean-Luc Samyn Philip G. Johnson 1:50.80
1981 Princelet Eddie Maple John P. Campo 1:51.00
1980 Fappiano Angel Cordero, Jr. Jan H. Nerud 1:50.00
1979 Belle's Gold Angel Cordero, Jr. Walter A. Kelley 1:48.00
1978 Sorry Lookin Roger Velez Pete D. Anderson 1:49.60
1977 Cox's Ridge Eddie Maple Joseph B. Cantey 1:48.60
1976 Wise Philip Daryl Montoya William Boland 1:48.60
1975 Dr. Emil Braulio Baeza William F. Schmitt 1:48.60
1974 Rube the Great Angel Cordero, Jr. Pancho Martin 1:48.20
1974 Green Gambados Angel Cordero, Jr. Laz Barrera 1:48.20
1973 Forego Heliodoro Gustines Eddie Hayward 1:47.20
1972 Forage Eddie Maple James W. Maloney 1:48.60
1971 Autobiography Laffit Pincay, Jr. Pancho Martin 1:50.40
1970 Burd Alane Jorge Velasquez Victor J. Nickerson 1:47.40
1969 Hydrologist Doug Thomas Roger Laurin 1:47.60
1968 Ardoise Eddie Belmonte Angel Penna, Sr. 1:49.20
1967 Bold Hour Bill Shoemaker Bert Mulholland 1:48.60
1966 Deck Hand † Bill Shoemaker Scotty Schulhofer 1:49.60
1965 Sammyren Heliodoro Gustines Burley Parke 1:49.00
1964 Roman Brother Fernando Alvarez Burley Parke 1:49.00
1963 Quest Link Bill Shoemaker Robert D. Wingfield 1:49.80
1962 Comic Larry Adams James E. Fitzsimmons 1:48.60
1961 Ambiopoise Bill Shoemaker Thomas M. Waller 1:48.80
1960 Kelso Eddie Arcaro Carl Hanford 1:48.40
1959 Middle Brother Eddie Arcaro E. Barry Ryan 1:50.60
1958 Warhead Eddie Arcaro Kay Erik Jensen 1:51.20
1957 Ben Lomand Eddie Arcaro James E. Ryan 1:49.20
1956 Reneged Ismael Valenzuela Homer C. Pardue 1:48.20
1955 Westward Ho Conn McCreary not found 1:52.80
1954 Chevation Eric Guerin Richard E. Handlen 1:50.00
1953 Level Lea Bennie Green James E. Fitzsimmons 1:52.00
1952 Ancestor Ted Atkinson James E. Fitzsimmons 1:50.80
1951 Alerted Ovie Scurlock Jimmy Penrod 1:50.40
1950 Sunglow Douglas Dodson Preston M. Burch 1:49.00
1949 Prophets Thumb Dave Gorman Max Hirsch 1:52.20
1948 Better Self Dave Gorman Max Hirsch 1:53.80
1947 Cosmic Bomb Ovie Scurlock Willie Booth 1:51.20
1946 Mighty Story Basil James Burley Parke 1:51.80
1945 War Jeep Arnold Kirkland Tom Smith 1:51.40
Proudly featured on: