2020 BC Classic: Past Performances, Statistical Analysis, Pedigree for Today’s Breeders’ Cup Classic Race

2020 BC Classic Odds, Past Performances, Betting, and Pedigree

The Breeders’ Cup Classic, which is worth $6 million this year, is contested at the classic distance of 1 1⁄4 miles on dirt. It used to be the richest race in the world until the Dubai World Cup in 1995, then the inaugurual Pegasus World Cup, Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe and now the $20 million Saudi Cup.

American Horse of the Year winners who have also captured the Breeders’ Cup Classic are: Alysheba, 1988; A.P. Indy, 1992; Cigar, 1995; Tiznow, 2000; Ghostzapper, 2004; Saint Liam, 2005; Invasor, 2006; Curlin, 2007; American Pharoah, 2015; and Gun Runner, 2017.

Breeders’ Cup Classic Betting

Hall of Famer Bob Baffert leads all trainers with three winners – Bayern, 2014; American Pharoah, 2015; and Arrogate, 2016. Jerry Bailey and Chris McCarron each rode five winners to lead all jockeys. Tiznow in 2001 and 2002 is the only horse to have won the Classic twice and will remain the only one as last year’s winner, Vino Rosso, was retired and stood his first year at stud this year.

The fastest Breeders’ Cup Classic time belongs to Ghostzapper, who set the mark of 1:59:02 under Javier Castellano in 2004 at Lone Star Park. It is also remains the track record for the distance. In 2015 American Pharoah’s final time of 2:00.07 set a track record at Keeneland.

The Classic is responsible for more than just Horse of the Year Honors. The biggest upset in Breeders’ Cup history came when European import Arcangues stunned the Santa Anita Crowd at odds of 133-1 under jockey Jerry Bailey and returned $269.20 for a $2 wager.

American Pharoah is the only Triple Crown winner to have also won the Breeders’ Cup Classic. Cigar (1995), Pleasantly Perfect (2003) and Invasor (2006) are the only three Breeders’ Cup Classic/Dubai World Cup winners.

Pedigree in the Breeders’ Cup Classic Race

While pedigree is certainly an important part of thoroughbred racing and absolutely in the Breeders’ Cup each year, some Breeders’ Cup winners have excelled in producing Breeders’ Cup winners themselves. Additionally, a handful of elite Breeders Cup-winning broodmares have also produced world championships winners.

In 2015 Triple Crown winner American Pharoah won the Classic and last year his son from his very first crop as a stallion, Four Wheel Drive, captured the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint. Also last year, Sharing won the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf. The Graham Motion trainee is a daughter of two Beeders’ Cup Champions as she’s by 2004 Sprint winner Speightstown and out of 2010 Filly & Mare Turf winner Shared Account. Though still racing, she won’t make the starting gate for this year’s Breeders’ Cup.

Also, 1993 Distaff heroine Hollywood Wildcat produced 2000 Mile winner War Chant, who himself produced 2010 Turf Sprint winner Chamberlain Bridge.

The list of Breeders’ Cup winners to produce Breeders’ Cup winners:

Past Performances and Statistics for the Breeders’ Cup Classic Race


A.P. Indy 1992 Breeders’ Cup Classic
Tempera 2001 Breeders’ Cup Marathon
Eldaafer 2010 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies
American Pharoah 2015 Breeders’ Cup Classic
Four Wheel Drive 2019 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint
Awesome Again 1998 Breeders’ Cup Classic
Ghostzapper 2004 Breeders’ Cup Classic Powered by Dodge
Round Pond 2006 Emirates Airline Breeders’ Cup Distaff
Ginger Punch 2007 Emirates Airline Breeders’ Cup Distaff
Wilko Bessemer Trust Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Capote 1986 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Boston Harbor 1996 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Cherokee Run 1994 Breeders’ Cup Sprint
War Pass 2007 Bessemer Trust Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Chief’s Crown 1984 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Chief Bearhart 1997 Breeders’ Cup Turf
Court Vision 2011 TVG Breeders’ Cup Mile
Storm the Court 2019 TVG Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Cozzene 1985 Breeders’ Cup Mile
Tikkanen 1994 Breeders’ Cup Classic
Alphabet Soup 1996 Breeders’ Cup Turf
Curlin 2007 Breeders’ Cup Classic Powered by Dodge
Good Magic 2017 Sentient Jet Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Vino Rosso 2019 Longines Breeders’ Cup Classic
Ghostzapper 2004 Breeders’ Cup Classic Powered by Dodge
Judy the Beauty 2014 DraftKings Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Sprint
Gulch 1988 Breeders’ Cup Sprint
Court Vision 2011 TVG Breeders’ Cup Mile
High Chaparral (IRE) 2002, 2003 John Deere Breeders’ Cup Turf
Wrote (IRE) 2011 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf
Macho Uno 2000 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Mucho Macho Man 2013 Breeders’ Cup Classic
Pleasantly Perfect 2003 Breeders’ Cup Classic
Shared Account 2010 Emirates Airline Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Turf
Royal Academy 1990 Breeders’ Cup Mile
Val Royal (FR) 2001 Breeders’ Cup Mile
Speightstown 2004 Breeders’ Cup Sprint
Tamarkuz 2016 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf
Sharing 2019 Las Vegas Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile
Tapizar 2012 Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile
Monomoy Girl 2018 Longines Breeders’ Cup Distaff
Tiznow 2000, 2001 Breeders’ Cup Classic
Folklore 2005 Alberto VO5 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies
Tourist 2016 Breeders’ Cup Mile
Unbridled 1990 Breeders’ Cup Classic
Unbridled’s Song 1995 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Anees 1999 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies
Halfbridled 2003 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Unbridled’s Song Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Unbridled Elaine 2001 Beeders’ Cup Distaff
Midshipman 2008 Bessemer Trust Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Unrivaled Belle 2010 Breeders’ Cup Ladies’ Classic
Liam’s Map 2015 Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile
Arrogate 2016 Breeders’ Cup Classic
Forever Unbridled 2017 Breeders’ Cup Distaff
Uncle Mo 2010 Grey Goose Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
Nyquist 2015 Sentient Jet Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
War Chant 2000 Breeders’ Cup Mile
Chamberlain Bridge 2010 Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint
Wild Again 1984 Breeders’ Cup Classic
Elmhurst 1997 Breeders’ Cup Sprint




Hollywood Wildcat 1993 Breeders’ Cup Distaff
War Chant 2000 Breeders’ Cup Mile
My Flag 1995 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies
Storm Flag Flying 2002 Long John Silver’s Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies
Personal Ensign 1998 Breeders’ Cup Distaff
My Flag 1995 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies
Shared Account 2010 Emirates Airline Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Turf
Sharing 2019 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf

Breeders’ Cup Classic Odds


2020 Breeders’ Cup Classic Odds and Post Position
PP  Horse  Odds  Trainer  Jockey 
1 Tacitus 20-1 William I. Mott Jose Ortiz
2 Tiz the Law 3-1 Barclay Tagg Manuel Franco
3 By My Standards 10-1 W. Bret Calhoun Gabriel Saez
4 Tom’s d’Etat 6-1 Albert M. Stall Jr. Joel Rosario
5 Title Ready 30-1 Dallas Stewart Corey Lanerie
6 Higher Power 20-1 John W. Sadler Flavien Prat
7 Global Campaign 20-1 Stanley M. Hough Javier Castellano
8 Improbable 5-2 Bob Baffert Irad Ortiz, Jr.
9 Authentic 6-1 Bob Baffert John Velazques
10 Maximum Security 7-2 Bob Baffert Luis Saez
Posted on