Current Kentucky Derby Odds: Favorite Tiz the Laws Post Position 17 Handicap

Heptadecaphobia In The Kentucky Derby

By Ray Wallin

Seventeen. It is also considered unlucky in Italian culture when viewed as the Roman numeral XVII and changed around to VIXI it translates from Latin as “I lived.” If you are heptadecaphobic, you are scared of it.

Seventeen. It is not always bad though.

Tiz The Law Horse

Tiz the Law – Courtesy of Churchill Downs/Coady Photography.

It is a prime number. It is the atomic number of chlorine. It is the number of NBA championships that the Boston Celtics have won. It is the number of syllables in haiku. The great Bob Gibson set this record when he struck out this many Tigers in Game 1 of the 1968 World Series and played the same number of seasons for the St. Louis Cardinals. Chris Mullin wore this number which is now retired with the Golden State Warriors.

RELATED: Tiz The Law Team Hoping To Smell The Roses On Delayed Kentucky Derby Day

It is also the only post position in the Kentucky Derby to never produce a winner. In 2018, I first wrote about it, however this year with heavy favorite Tiz The Law set to start from that cursed spot, it was time to revisit it.


2020 Kentucky Derby Odds and Post Position
PP Horse Odds Trainer Jockey
1 Finnick the Fierce SCR Rey Hernandez Martin Garcia
2 Max Player 30-1 Steven M. Asmussen Ricardo Santana, Jr.
3 Enforceable 30-1 Mark Casse Adam Beschizza
4 Storm the Court 50-1 Peter Eurton Julien Leparoux
5 Major Fed 50-1 Greg Foley James Graham
6 King Guillermo SCR Juan Carlos Avila Samy Camacho
7 Money Moves 30-1 Todd Pletcher Javier Castellano
8 South Bend 50-1 Tyler Gaffalione Bill Mott
9 Mr. Big News 50-1 Bret Calhoun Gabriel Saez
10 Thousand Words 15-1 Bob Baffert Florent Geroux
11 Necker Island 50-1 Chris Hartman Miguel Mena
12 Sole Volante 30-1 Patrick Biancone Luca Panici
13 Attachment Rate 50-1 Dale Romans Joe Talamo
14 Winning Impression 50-1 Dallas Stewart Joe Rocco, Jr.
15 NY Traffic 20-1 Saffie Joseph, Jr. Paco Lopez
16 Honor A. P. 5-1 John A. Shirreffs Mike Smith
17 Tiz the Law 3-5 Barclay Tagg Manny Franco
18 Authentic 8-1 Bob Baffert John Velazquez

Posted on