Monrovia Stakes

Location: Santa Anita Park, Arcadia, California, United States
Inaugurated: 1967
Race type: Thoroughbred - Flat racing
Distance: 6 1/2 furlongs
Track: Turf, left-handed
Qualification: Four-years-old & up
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $200,000
Grade: III

The Monrovia Stakes is named for the local city near the track. Monrovia is a city located in the foothills of the San Gabriel Mountains in the San Gabriel Valley of Los Angeles County, California, United States. Monrovia has been used for filming TV shows, movies and commercials. Monrovia is the fourth oldest general law city in Los Angeles County and the L.A. Basin (after Los Angeles, Santa Monica, and Pasadena). Incorporated in 1887, Monrovia has grown from a sparse community of orange ranches to a residential community of 37,000.

Monrovia Trivia: The house seen in the 1986 horror-comedy cult film House (1986 film) is located at 329 Melrose Avenue in Monrovia


Bet on Monrovia Stakes


US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!

Monrovia Stakes 2014 Contenders

Here is a list of Contenders for the 47th Running Of at Santa Anita Park, with $200,000 Guaranteed

Appealing (IRE)
Blues and Silvers
Camryn Kate
Charlie Em (GB)
Golden Production
Judy in Disguise (GB)
Kinz Funky Monkey
Lady Ten
Miss Lucky Sevens
Purim's Dancer
Sky High Gal
Social Bug
Teddy's Promise
Unusual Hottie
Winding Way


Monrovia Stakes Past Winners

2013 Mizdirection Mike E. Smith Michael Puype
2012 Mizdirection Garrett Gomez Michael Puype
2011 Unzip Me Rafael Bejarano Martin F. Jones
2010 Tuscan Evening Rafael Bejarano Jerry Hollendorfer
2009 Jibboom Garrett Gomez Robert J. Frankel
2008 Alexandra Rose Rafael Bejarano Neil D. Drysdale
2007 Society Hostess Garrett Gomez Christophe Clement
2006 Awesome Lady Tyler Baze Gary Stute
2005 Resplendency Casey Fusilier Bob Baffert
2004 Icantgoforthat Tyler Baze Steve Knapp
2003 Lil Sister Stich Laffit Pincay, Jr. Douglas F. O'Neill
2002 Paga Mike E. Smith Richard Mandella
2001 Evening Promise Kent Desormeaux Kathy Walsh
2000 Show Me The Stage Kent Desormeaux Eric Guillot
1999 Desert Lady Corey Nakatani Wallace Dollase
1998 Madame Pandit Eddie Delahoussaye Ron McAnally
1997 Grab The Prize Alex Solis Darrell Vienna
1996 Klassy Kim Goncalino Almeida Melvin F. Stute
1995 Rabiadella Pat Valenzuela Mike Orman
1994 Mamselle Bebette Corey Nakatani Jack Van Berg
1993 Glen Kate Corey Black Bill Shoemaker
1992 Middlefork Rapids Pat Valenzuela Terry Knight
1991 Wedding Bouquet Kent Desormeaux Gary F. Jones
1990 Down Again Corey Black Richard L. Cross

Proudly featured on: