Contenders for the Long Island Handicap

Long Island Handicap

November 4, 2013

Track: Aqueduct Racetrack
Distance: 1 1/2 miles (12 furlongs)
Track: Turf, left-handed
Qualification: Fillies & mares, three-years-old & up
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $150,000

Formerly a Grade II event, the Long Island Handicap was down-graded to Grade III status in 2007.

No nomination fee. $2,000 to pass the entry box. The purse to be divided 60% to the winner, 20% to second, 10% to third, 5% to fourth, 3% to fifth and 2% divided equally among remaining finishers.

A trophy will be presented to the winning owner. The New York Racing Association reserves the right to transfer this race to the Main Track. In the event that this race is taken off the turf, it may be subject to downgrading by the Graded Stakes Committee.


Bet on Long Island Handicap

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!


Entries and Contenders

AIGUE MARINE (GB) Haras du Mezeray Christophe Clement
AND WHY NOT Helen K. Groves Michael R. Matz
ANGEL TERRACE Augustin Stable Jonathan E. Sheppard
ANJAZ Godolphin Stable Thomas Albertrani
AUSUS Shadwell Stable Daniel C. Peitz
CLARINDA Cheyenne Stables, LLC Christophe Clement
DAYLIGHT RIDE Augustin Stable Jonathan E. Sheppard
DREAMING OF CARA Richard Greeley Mitchell E. Friedman
FINAL ESCROW Waterville Lake Stables Arnaud Delacour
INIMITABLE ROMANEE Gallagher's Stud H. Graham Motion
LEFT A MESSAGE Glen Hill Farm Thomas F. Proctor
LISVERNANE Ninety North Racing Stable James J. Toner
MALIBU YANKEE Family First Stable Niall Saville
MINAKSHI (FR) Northern Bloodstock Michael R. Matz
PREFERENTIAL (GB) Juddmonte Farms William I. Mott
QUSHCHI (GB) Andrew Stone H. Graham Motion
ROYAL LAHAINA James A. Riccio Todd A. Pletcher
SHEPPARD'S PIE William L. Pape Jonathan E. Sheppard
SILKY (IRE) Richard Santulli Alan E. Goldberg
STRATHNAVER (GB) Andrew Stone H. Graham Motion
TABREED (GB) China Horse Club Christophe Clement
TANNERY (IRE) Richard Santulli Alan E. Goldberg
TOPIC Alice Bamford Neil D. Drysdale
VALIANT GIRL (GB) Antoinette Oppenheimer H. Graham Motion
WHITE ROSE Jake Ballis William I. Mott
ZERO GAME (IRE) Joann Robinson Niall Saville

Long Island Handicap Past Winners

Year | Horse | Time | Jockey

2012 Starformer 02:33.1 Edgar S. Prado
2011 Hit It Rich 02:30.4 Javier Castellano
2010 Mekong Melody (IRE) 02:30.7 Alex Solis
2009 Criticism (GB) 02:35.0 Javier Castellano
2008 Criticism (GB) 02:29.8 Javier Castellano
2007 Dalvina (GB) 02:34.4 Cornelio H. Velasquez
2006 Safari Queen (ARG) 02:30.9 Chris DeCarlo
2005 Olaya 1/5/2013 2:30 Edgar Prado
2004 Eleusis 2/5/2013 2:31 Jose Santos
2003 Spice Island 2/5/2013 2:32 Victor Carrero
2002 Uriah (GER) 2/5/2013 2:42 Norberto Arroyo Jr.
2001 Queue 1/5/2013 2:29 Jose Espinoza
2000 Moonlady (GER) 4/5/2013 2:17 Chris DeCarlo
1999 Midnight Line 3/5/2013 2:29 Jerry Bailey
1998 Coretta 3/5/2013 2:29 Jose Santos
1998 Yokama 2:31 Jerry Bailey
1997 Sweetzie 3/5/2013 2:16 Jorge Chavez
1996 Ampulla 3/5/2013 2:30 Shane Sellers
1995 Yenda 2:37 Corey Nakatani
1994 Market Booster 4/5/2013 2:31 Mike Luzzi
1993 Trampoli 2/5/2013 2:31 Mike Smith
1992 Villandry 2:29 Mike Smith
1991 Shaima 2/5/2013 2:31 Lanfranco Dettori
1990 Rigamajig 3/5/2013 2:29 Jorge Chavez
1990 Peinture Bleue 4/5/2013 2:29 Jose Santos



Proudly featured on: