Buffum Sprints to Victory in Bold Ruler

Bold Ruler Handicap

Archives: October 2012

Godolphin Racing's Buffum came out running and never stopped as he posted a gate-to-wire score in the $150,000 Bold Ruler Handicap (gr. III) at Belmont Park Oct. 27.

Buffum, a 4-year-old Bernardini colt, shot to the lead from the inside post and ticked off fractions of :22.55 and :45.24 while being tracked intently by Associate and Little Drama on the far outside. Facing a serious challenge from those two rivals straightening for home, Buffum found an extra gear inside the eighth pole. He held well for a 1 1/4-length victory over Little Drama, with Associate finishing third, another half-length back.

It was the first stakes victory for Buffum, whose time for the seven furlongs was 1:21.68 over a fast track.

"He broke good and put himself right there, it was the only choice," said winning jockey Eddie Castro.

The victory was the second in three 2012 starts for Buffum, who was coming off a 3 1/2-month layoff following a sixth-place finish in the Suburban Handicap (gr. II) at Belmont. He began the year with an eight-length score at Belmont in May in which he recorded a career-best 105 Beyer speed figure at a mile.


Bet on Bold Ruler Handicap

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!


Stakes Race Details

Location: Aqueduct Racetrack
Distance: 6 furlong sprint
Track: Dirt, left-handed
Qualification: Three-years-old & up
Weight: Assigned
Purse: $150,000


Remsen Stakes Video

Nov 9, 2011 -- Calibrachoa captured his fifth race in as many starts at Aqueduct Racetrack with a victory in Sunday's Grade 3, $100,000 Bold Ruler Handicap. Making his first start at the Big A since March, Calibrachoa prompted pacesetter Rule by Night through opening fractions of 22.29 and 45.25 seconds, claimed a narrow lead at the quarter pole, and shook clear of his rivals in the stretch to prevail by 2 3/4 lengths over Sangaree.



Past Winners of the Bold Ruler Handicap

Year Winner
2012 Buffum
2011 Calibrachoa
2010 Bribon
2009 Le Gran Cru
2008 Lucky Island
2007 Songster
2006 Tiger
2005 Uncle Camie
2004 Canadian Frontier
2003 Shake You Down
2002 Left Bank
2001 Say Florida Sandy
2000 Brutally Frank
Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
2018 No Dozing 5 D. Centeno A. Delacour 1:23.81
2017 Tom's Ready 4 Joel Rosario Dallas Stewart 1:22.06
2016 Stallwalkin' Dude 6 Irad Ortiz, Jr. David Jacobson 1:21.66
2015 Matrooh 5 Abel Castellano, Jr. Chad C. Brown 1:21.24
2014 Salutos Amigos 4 Cornelio Velasquez David Jacobson 1:21.87
2013 Clearly Now 3 Jose Lezcano Brian A. Lynch 1:21.52
2012 Buffum 4 Eddie Castro Thomas Albertrani 1:21.68
2011 Calibrachoa 4 Jose Lezcano Todd Pletcher 1:21.32
2010 Bribon 7 John Velazquez Todd Pletcher 1:22.36
2009 Le Gran Cru 4 Jose Lezcano Allen Jerkens 1:22.19
2008 Lucky Island 4 Alan Garcia Kiaran McLaughlin 1:09.14
2007 Songster 4 Edgar Prado Saeed bin Suroor 1:08.80
2006 Tiger 5 Eibar Coa James A. Jerkens 1:08.49
2005 Uncle Camie 5 Richard Migliore Michael E. Hushion 1:08.67
2004 Canadian Frontier 5 Javier Castellano Stanley M. Hough 1:08.97
2003 Shake You Down 5 Mike Luzzi Scott A. Lake 1:08.47
2002 Left Bank 5 John Velazquez Todd A. Pletcher 1:09.30
2001 Say Florida Sandy 7 Joe Bravo Juan Serey 1:08.67
2000 Brutally Frank 6 Shaun Bridgmohan Mitchell Friedman 1:08.64
1999 Kelly Kip 5 Jean-Luc Samyn H. Allen Jerkens 1:07.54
1998 Kelly Kip 4 Jean-Luc Samyn H. Allen Jerkens 1:07.61
1997 Punch Line 7 Robbie Davis William Turner, Jr. 1:08.80
1996 Lite The Fuse 5 Julie Krone Richard Dutrow, Sr. 1:09.51
1995 Rizzi 4 Dale Beckner H. Allen Jerkens 1:08.91
1994 Chief Desire 4 John Velazquez Michael E. Hushion 1:08.76
1993 Slerp 4 Jose A. Santos Robert B. Hess, Jr. 1:09.17
1992 Jolies Appeal 4 Herb McCauley Gasper Moschera 1:09.29
1991 Rousing Past 4 Nick Santagata Carlos F. Martin 1:09.80
1990 Mr. Nickerson 4 Chris Antley Mark J. Reid 1:09.20
1989 Pok Ta Pok 4 Richard Migliore William Turner, Jr. 1:09.80
1988 King's Swan 8 Chris Antley Richard Dutrow, Sr. 1:10.20
1987 Pine Tree Lane 5 Angel Cordero, Jr. D. Wayne Lukas 1:09.00
1986 Phone Trick 4 Jorge Velasquez Richard Mandella 1:08.80
1985 Rocky Marriage 5 Angel Cordero, Jr. Robert J. Frankel 1:08.80
1984 Top Avenger 6 Antonio Graell Jack D. Ludwig 1:09.80
1983 Maudlin 5 Jerry D. Bailey Jan H. Nerud 1:11.60
1982 Always Run Lucky 4 Jimmy Miranda John P. Campo 1:09.40
1981 Dave's Friend 6 Anthony Black Robert L. Beall 1:09.60
1980 Dave's Friend 5 Vince Bracciale, Jr. Robert L. Beall 1:09.80
1979 Star De Naskra 4 Jeffrey Fell Richard D. Ferris 1:09.20
1978 Half High 5 Angel Santiago Edward Coletti 1:09.40
1977 Jaipur's Gem 4 Jean-Luc Samyn Philip G. Johnson 1:09.60
1976 Chief Tamanaco 3 Angel Cordero, Jr. James Iselin 1:09.80
"We trust US Racing to provide accurate and thoughtful coverage of racing. They are the best source for horse racing odds."


All Members get a free $10 Bet

Make the most out of your first deposit at BUSR with an outstanding new member cash bonus up to $1,000!
Start winning at BUSR now!
Learn More


If you wager at least $500 at BUSR within 30 days of registering your account, we will automatically deposit an extra $150 into your account!


Feel more in control thanks to an outstanding rebate bonus!
Make your straight bets with BUSR, and the next day, you'll find a 3% rebate in your account! You can also bet on anything except for Win, Place and Show, and you'll find up to 8% rebate!
Learn More

Get your New Member Bonus Up To $1,000 Cash! at BUSR

Proudly featured on: