Breeders' Cup

2015 Breeders Cup' Classic

Breeders' Cup Classic

Purse:$5,000,000Grade: 1
Distance: 1 1/4 MilesAge: 3+

Every sport has a definitive year-ending event to crown its champions. In Thoroughbred racing, the Breeders’ Cup World Championships is the culmination of the horse racing season worldwide and the $5 million Breeders’ Cup Classic is the defining event of the international racing season.

The Breeders’ Cup Classic, run at 1 1/4 miles, draws the top international Thoroughbreds year after year. With its $5 million purse, the Classic is the richest race in all of North America. It is open to horses 3-years-old and older and is limited to 14 starters. Five of this year’s starters will gain automatic entries into the race by qualifying through Breeders’ Cup Challenge series.

Breeders' Cup Classic Odds

* Horses - Breeders Cup Classic - Odds
* Horses - Breeders Cup Classic - Odds - Aug 03
Fixed Odds - All Horses Are Action, Run Or Not
Horses - Breeders Cup Classic - Odds To Win
TeamAmerican OddsFractional Odds
American Pharoah+1608/5
California Chrome+8008/1
Palace Malice+95019/2
Honor Code+150015/1
Firing Line+250025/1
Toast Of New York+200020/1
Wicked Strong+240024/1
Texas Red+300030/1
Carpe Diem+150015/1
Red Rifle+500050/1
Competitive Edge+10000100/1
Shared Belief+2259/4
Wise Dan+250025/1
Catch A Flight+300030/1
Prince Bishop+500050/1
Race Day+500050/1
V E Day+500050/1
Coach Inge+600060/1
Prospect Park+600060/1
Candy Boy+750075/1
John F Kennedy+750075/1
Keen Ice+750075/1
Liams Map+750075/1
War Dispatch+750075/1
Ocean Knight+850085/1
El Kabeir+10000100/1
General A Rod+10000100/1
Ride On Curlin+10000100/1
War Story+10000100/1
Updated August 2, 2015. Bet US Racing - Official Breeder' Cup Odds.
All odds are fixed odds prices.

Bet on the Breeders' Cup

2014 Breeders' Cup Classic Results

Result Time Post Odds HorseTrainerJockey Owner
11:59.8876.10BayernBob BaffertMartin Garcia  
2  18.40Toast of New York  
3  4.40California Chrome    
4  2.50*Shared Belief    
5  4.40Tonalist    
6  20.30Candy Boy    
7  11.60Cigar Street    
8  11.40Zivo    
9  66.10Imperative     
10  69.70Footbridge     
11  25.70V. E. Day     
12  54.90Prayer for Relief     
13  45.60Majestic Harbor     
14  28.10Moreno     

2014 Breeders' Cup Classic Payouts

9Toast of New York$18.00$10.80
13California Chrome$5.40

Wager Horses Payout
Daily Double14-7$556.00
Pick 313-14-7$5,108.60
Pick 412-13-14-7$18,335.35
Pick 57-9-13-6-11$8,678.20
Pick 6, 5 Correct6-7-12-13-14-7$114,472.00

Breeders' Cup Classic Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Win Time
2014 Bayern Martin Garcia Bob Baffert 1:59.88
2013 Mucho Macho Man      
2012 Fort Larned      
2011 Drosselmeyer      
2010 Blame Garrett K. Gomez Albert M. Stall 2:02:28
2009 Zenyatta Mike Smith John A Shirreffs 2:00:62
2008 Ravens Pass L. Dettori H M John Gosden 1:59.27
2007 Curlin R. Albarado S. Asmussen 2:00.59
2006 Invasor (ARG) Fernando Jara Kiaran McLaughlin 2:02.18
2005 Saint Liam J. Bailey R. Dutrow Jr 2:01.49
2004 Ghostzapper J. Castellano R. Frankel 1:59.02
2003 Pleasantly Perfect Alex Solis Richard Mandella 1:594/5
2002 Volponi Jose Santos Philip Johnson 2:012/5
2001 Tiznow Chris McCarron Jay Robbins 2:003/5
2000 Tiznow Chris McCarron Jay Robbins 2:003/5
1999 Cat Thief Pat Day D. Wayne Lukas 1:592/5
1998 Awesome Again Pat Day Patrick Byrne 2:02:00
1997 Skip Away Mike Smith Hubert Hine 1:591/5
1996 Alphabet Soup Chris McCarron David Hofmans 2:01:00
1995 Cigar Jerry Bailey Bill Mott 1:592/5
1994 Concern Jerry Bailey Richard Small 2:022/5
1993 Arcangues Jerry Bailey Andre Fabre 2:004/5
1992 A.P. Indy Eddie Delahoussaye Neil Drysdale 2:001/5
1991 Black Tie Affair Jerry Bailey Ernie Poulos 2:024/5
1990 Unbridled Pat Day Carl Nafzger 2:021/5
1989 Sunday Silence Chris McCarron C. Whittingham 2:001/5
1988 Alysheba Chris McCarron Jack Van Berg 2:044/5
1987 Ferdinand Bill Shoemaker C. Whittingham 2:012/5
1986 Skywalker Laffit Pincay Jr. M. Whittingham 2:002/5
1985 Proud Truth Jorge Velasquez John Veitch 2:004/5
1984 Wild Again Pat Day Vincent Timphony 2:032/5

Bet on the
Breeders' Cup!

The easiest way to bet online.

Racing News

American Pharoah 'on course' for 1st race since Triple Crown

DEL MAR, Calif. — Trainer Bob Baffert says American Pharoah is "right on course" for his first race since winning the Triple Crown after a longer-than-expected run in Califo...
July 24, 2015

3 jockeys accused of fixing races at Evangeline Downs

OPELOUSAS, La. — Three jockeys are accused in a race-fixing scheme that involved holding back a horse picked as a favorite to win and using an agent to place bets on the race at Evan...
July 24, 2015

Long-shot Star Act rallies to win at Del Mar

DEL MAR, Calif. — Long-shot Star Act rallied to beat Circling by 1 1/2 lengths Thursday in the $72,000 feature race for fillies and mares at Del Mar.Ridden by Hall of Famer Gary Stev...
July 24, 2015

Trainer: California Chrome to return to racing in 2016

DEL MAR, Calif. — Trainer Art Sherman says California Chrome, winner of the 2014 Kentucky Derby and Horse of the Year, will return to racing next year.The 4-year-old colt is currentl...
July 20, 2015


Breeders' Cup, Breeders' Cup World Championship and Breeders' Cup logo are registered trademarks or subsidiaries of Breeders' Cup Limited and/or its affiliates (collectively Breeders' Cup). Breeders' Cup does not sponsor or endorse, and is not associated or affiliated with US Racing or its products, services or promotions. US Racing provides free information, odds, facts and commentary about the Breeders' Cup and horse racing and betting, in general. Third party marks may be referenced in a transformative, editorial, informational, nominative, critical, analytical or comparative context. As such, US Racing may reference marks belonging to third parties pursuant to our right to engage in fair use, fair comment, statutory fair use or trade mark fair use doctrine. As such, this US Racing does not contribute to any dilution of any trade or service marks. US Racing provides this information in an effort to educate and grow the sport of thoroughbred racing in North America with an emphasis on attracting new fans of the sport.